Day 83 : Springtime Pasta with Bacon

I watch a lot of food network in my house, and that means so do the kids… they really don’t have much choice lol.  Perrin is actually really into Iron Chef America, and always acts like we are “in kitchen stadium” when I am making dinner.  He loves that when he helps me I call him Iron Chef Perrin.  So anyway, in order to get him to try some new foods I mentioned that chef’s and especially Iron Chefs have to try the foods they make and somehow it worked!

In the last couple of days he has done almost a 180 and tried many new foods, and enjoyed them I might add.  Tonight he tried everything but the goat cheese since Jeff claims to be allergic and Perrin has so many food allergies of his own.  He loved the bacon and the only thing he didn’t care for was the onion which I expected lol.  I am so relieved that he is doing better w/ this issue and I only hope he keeps this new attitude!

Tonight’s dinner was very light and fresh tasting, just like the name implies.  I liked the different textures of the various veggies and the smokey/salty aspect of the bacon.  The lemony sauce really punched up the flavors and IMO the goat cheese was just the right ingredient to tie everything together with it’s tangy creaminess.  It’s too bad for Jeff that he opted out….. I don’t believe that he’s allergic.  He used feta in his which I am sure would be fine but not the same.

For the bacon I baked it which resulted in PERFECT pieces w/ just the right done-ness.  Everything else I prepped ahead of time so that I could just toss it all together and not be scrambling while the pasta cooked.  That worked well, minus the SPIDER that was hanging out on the radishes when I went to add them!  I’m sure my neighbors got an earful from that little surprise lol.  With an extra good rinse of the radishes everything turned out just fine though.  Since I had to leave the cheese off the main bowl of it, I put a bit in a separate dish for the pic.

It may not quite feel like spring all the time in my area, but this pasta was just the thing to put me in the mood.  It was so pretty and fresh and helped me to forget that  the weather is forecasting chances of snow again!

 

Springtime Pasta with Bacon

Serves : 4-6                  Time to make : 25 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 16 oz. orecchiette pasta
  • 1 cup frozen sweet peas
  • 1 1/2 cup fresh snow peas
  • 8 radishes, cut into wedges (I sliced mine)
  • 2 large carrots, grated
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/3 cup coarsely chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 6 thick cut bacon slices, cooked and crumbled
  • 4 oz. crumbled goat cheese (optional)

Directions :

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions.  Add sweet peas, and snow peas during the last minute of cooking.  Drain.
  2. Toss pasta mixture with radishes and next 5 ingredients.  Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Sprinkle with bacon and goat cheese and serve.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/day-83-springtime-pasta-with-bacon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

