Day 91 : Shrimp w/ Feta and Orzo

This is another of those great, simple, and versatile dishes that you can have any day of the week, and any time of year.  I have made it many times now and it’s a very nice and light, fresh meal.  The original does not call for shallots or red pepper, or even garlic, but I like them so I put them in.  I also don’t stick to the exact measurements according to the original recipe… I just eyeball it and put however much I want that particular night.

The recipe says orzo, and that is usually what I use, but I decided to have a bit of fun with it tonight and try stars because I happened to find the cutest little star pasta at the store the other day.  My hopes were that Perrin would eat it…. but no such luck.  Archer LOVED it though and the size of the stars were perfect for him.  One out of two isn’t bad in my book!

Shrimp w/ Feta and Orzo

Serves : 3-4                Time to make : 15-20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 cup orzo
  • 1 lb shrimp, cooked peeled and deveined with tails off
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes, like the italian style ones
  • 1 tsp. lemon zest
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled

Optional additions I have tried and enjoyed

  • 1-2 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2-3/4 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4-1/3 cup red onion or shallots, chopped
  • more parsley and more lemon zest
  • sun-dried tomato feta

Directions :

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions, drain.
  2. Meanwhile in a large skillet over medium high heat put in tomatoes and cook until the liquid is absorbed. (I usually throw in the peppers, onions and garlic about  halfway through)
  3. Add shrimp and other ingredients (minus the feta) and heat through.  Toss in the drained pasta.
  4. Carefully toss in the feta and serve.

 

Published in: on April 2, 2011 at 7:41 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/02/day-91-shrimp-w-feta-and-orzo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. jummy, I’ll have to try it!
    🙂


Leave a Reply

