Day 92 : Mini Deep Dish Pizzas

After a busy day running errands, and then making guacamole out of some stuff I needed to use up in the fridge I went ahead to make these.  While I think they typically would be fairly easy to make, tonight I was just SO not into it lol.  I had a mini breakdown in the middle of them and almost scrapped them all together since they weren’t cooperating with my rushed pace (because I just wanted to be done).  I ended up just throwing them together, not caring much if they looked well done or not, and figuring I would be finding an alternative after they came out of the oven…. but despite my lack of effort they still came out great and though they were thrown together the taste was fantastic for such a simple idea.  Next time, with a bit more patience and attention to what I put into each one I think they could be really great.

I used italian 5 blend cheese, pilsbury pizza dough, and 2 smaller tomatoes.  And then for my toppings I used mini pepperonis, canadian bacon, mushroom, and onion.  I had grand plans to do some with olives, some with roasted red peppers, maybe a pineapple one, but like I said I was rushing and didn’t want to make the extra effort.  I bet they would all work wonderfully though.  And next time I would even add a bit of oregano and basil to the tomatoes perhaps to give it more of the pizza sauce taste.  This would be a great way to serve pizza for a family who all likes different toppings on their pizzas…. or a fun thing for the kids to help with!

 

Mini Deep Dish Pizzas

Serves : 6 mini pizzas                Time to make : 30 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 pizza dough
  • 1 large tomato, roughly chopped
  • 1/2-2/3 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • olive oil cooking spray
  • toppings of choice

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees and spray 6 muffin cups with the cooking spray.
  2. Divide your dough into 6 pieces and roll out into about 6 inch rounds.  Press into the prepared muffin pan allowing dough to come up the sides and form a cup.
  3. Place tomatoes and a bit of cheese in the bottom of each, then your toppings and then more cheese and tomatoes.
  4. Bake 12 minutes, or until golden brown.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/03/day-92-mini-deep-dish-pizzas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

