Day 94 : Sloppy Joes

Well…. tonight it finally happened that I ran across a recipe that just did not work for me.  I read the ingredients and it SOUNDED good… but it just didn’t pull together right.  The flavor was very bland after I added the listed ingredients, and it also was not very “sloppy” at all, and I knew that after 30 minutes of continued cooking it would likely be burnt.  I decided to just doctor it then and not take the chance.  The ending result was pretty good, and I was able to save dinner, but I honestly think the recipe as stated would have been a disaster.

I did not measure anything as I added, and just went by taste.  I will list the things I added in case anyone wants to know, but with so many recipes out there for sloppy joes you might just want to try another… unless you are up for the challenge of fixing it to your tastes.  The base for the recipe is good, it just needs more!

I added more ketchup first, but it didn’t do much other than make it saucier… and too sweet.  So I tried to add depth of flavor with some Worcestershire sauce, some steak sauce, and a bit of chipotle pepper seasoning.  That worked to get the depth I wanted, but I needed something to mellow it out and make it saucier still… so I added about a half cup of tomato sauce as well.  That definitely brought it closer to what I consider a sloppy joes consistency and taste.  Jeff gave my resulting dish 5 stars, so I must have done something right lol.  I will list the original recipe below, and it is up to you to make it your own from there.

 

Sloppy Joes

Serves : 4            Time to make : 40 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 3 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. prepared yellow mustard
  • 3/4 cup ketchup
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions :

  1. Brown ground beef, with onions and peppers in a skillet on medium heat, drain.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients, lower heat to a simmer and cook an additional 30 minutes.
  3. Serve on your choice of bun or bread.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/day-94-sloppy-joes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

