Day 100 : Italian Chicken Salad

Woohoo!  I made it to day 100!  Thanks to everyone who continues to read my blog, and I hope you have walked away with many great new recipes, and will continue to check out my stuff!

This is a super simple salad to make, and most of the ingredients are pantry staples.  The person who came up with the recipe did so one night when she found herself with a package of salad about to expire.  I’ve made it a number of times and we always enjoy it.  The one thing I did different tonight, which made it even better, was to add a bit of goat cheese.

I usually season some chicken breasts with salt, pepper, and italian seasoning and grill them up for this.  I also use probably double the amount of kalamata olives because I really like them.  If you make this with the intention if it being a side to your main dish it would easily serve 4, but if you want to make a meal out of just the salad I would say it serves more like 2 or 3.  I usually make some crescent rolls with it or biscuits.  Once I even made some Mediterranean scones that went very well with it.

 

Italian Chicken Salad

Serves : 2-4             Time to make : 20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 (8 oz) package butter lettuce (I use an italian salad blend)
  • 1 (6) oz package pre-cooked chicken breast, chopped (I use two breasts)
  • 1/2 cup parmesan, shredded
  • 1/2 cup kalamata olives, chopped
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder

Directions :

  1. To make dressing, whisk together oil and vinegar in a bowl until well combined.  Then whisk in the garlic powder, pepper, and onion powder.  Set aside.  Before serving you may need to whisk again if it has separated.
  2. Toss salad with chicken, olives and parmesan.  Add dressing and toss to coat.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/day-100-italian-chicken-salad/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

