Day 101 : Banana Pancakes

It seems as if I am on a banana roll lately!  I guess it could be because that’s one of the things my littlest eats the most as far as table food and I like to find new ways to incorporate that for him.  I decided tonight I would try a banana recipe I came across because I figured it would work for everyone since my very picky eater recently decided he liked pancakes…. but it wasn’t a hit for him lol.

When making the batter I tasted a bit and felt it was bland so I added a bit more sugar… maybe a tsp or so.  I also realized midway through making them that I did not have any cardamom on hand so I subbed in some cinnamon instead.  I worried that such a small amount of pancake would go unnoticed completely, but the flavor was there, just in a subtle way.  I topped them with the left over marscapone “frosting” from the other day and some banana slices so that really helped to boost the banana in them.

 

Banana Pancakes

Serves : 4            Time to make : 30 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 2 Cups all purpose flour
  • 2 T. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cardamom
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 Cups buttermilk
  • 2 T. canola oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 small firm banana, finely chopped

Directions :

  1. In a large bowl combine the flour, brown sugar, baking soda, salt, and cardamom.
  2. In a separate bowl mix together the eggs, buttermilk, canola oil, and vanilla.
  3. Pour your wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until just moist.
  4. Fold in the finely chopped bananas.
  5. Cook on a hot griddle or in a skillet with cooking spray, flipping once you see the air bubbles and bottom is golden.  Cook until the other side is golden and cooked all the way through.

Published in: on April 12, 2011 at 8:05 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/12/day-101-banana-pancakes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

