Day 103 : Homemade Tartar Sauce

Since my son recently decided he likes battered fish, I decided to grab a box from the store.  And with that I wanted to make my own tartar sauce.  I found this recipe on Key Ingredient, and decided to give it a try.  I think it turned out pretty well, and I think the longer it sits, and the more the flavors marry the better it will get.  I had to make it tonight rather than ahead of time so I didn’t get to chill it for as long as I would have liked.

When I was reading the recipe I wasn’t sure what a cornichon was, and figured there was no way I was going to find it.  I looked it up and it basically said it was a gherkin so I figured I MIGHT be able to find that.  To my surprise Yokes has cornichons.  I had thought to use regular pickles in place of the cornichons if I couldn’t find them, but I think there is a pretty big difference taste wise between the two.  Cornichons are these tiny little pickles that are fairly soft, and not really strong or tart like dill pickles would have been.  Anyway, the only difference I made to the recipe was to throw in a bit of lemon zest.

Homemade Tartar Sauce

Makes : about 1 Cup                 Time to make : q0  minutes (plus chill time)

Ingredients :

  • 1 Cup mayo
  • 3 T. capers, chopped
  • 10 T. cornichons, finely chopped
  • 2 T. fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • dash hot sauce

Directions :

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, cover, and chill until ready to serve.

Published in: on April 14, 2011 at 8:26 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/14/day-103-homemade-tartar-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

