Day 104 : Blood Orange Lemonade

While out shopping the other day I noticed they had blood oranges at Yokes.  I have seen them on tv, and have always wondered what they could possibly taste like so I decided to buy a couple.  I had no idea how I wanted to use them, but I was leaning towards some sort of drink since I figured I would likely get the best taste of the blood orange that way with fewer other ingredients to get in the way.

I came across this one while searching and thought it sounded perfect.  The original recipe is for double the amount, but I am glad I decided to make half because to my surprise when I cut into the second orange (which was not part of the recipe) that I wanted to use as garnish I discovered that it was not “bloody” at all, and in fact there was just a slight amount of red inside.  Having no knowledge of blood oranges I am not sure if this is something that happens once in a while or what, but it surely would have been a disappointment if I had needed for the recipe!  I still cut it up and threw it in though since I didn’t want to waste a perfectly good orange, bloody or not.

You definitely won’t find a more SIMPLE recipe and though the flavor is somewhat understated I found this drink to be quite refreshing.  I tasted a bit of the blood orange before mixing it in and it was very good.  Sweet and citrusy with just a hint of something else, which according to an internet search is raspberry.  I dunno, maybe it’s a hybrid of the two?  Anyway they are very good.  It also results in a nice pretty pink color to the lemonade!

Blood Orange Lemonade

Serves : 4            Time to make : 10 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 8 cups cold water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 blood oranges, juice of
  • 2 lemons, juice of

Directions :

  1. Combine water and sugar in a pitcher and stir until sugar is completely dissolved.
  2. Pour in the juice of your blood oranges and lemons and stir well.
  3. Cut up what’s left of one of each lemon and blood orange and submerge in the lemonade.
  4. If you want, add some ice as well.
  5. Chill and serve.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/day-104-blood-orange-lemonade/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

