Day 114 : Tropical Yogurt Swirl

I’ve had this for breakfast/lunch about 4 times now and figured it was time to share!  I came across a recipe that called for mango, and fat free plain yogurt and though the idea was intriguing, the ingredients weren’t so much.  I decided to give it a try though using fat free vanilla greek yogurt and pineapple along with the other ingredients and it is SO good!  The original recipe also calls for protein powder, and I plan to try it that way at some point, but I forgot to pick some up the last time I was at the store.  I’ve been trying to get a bit more lean protein and fruits/veggies in my diet lately so this is a great way to accomplish that.

The recipe calls for shredded coconut, but I first tried it with toasted shredded coconut and really liked it that way.  I ran out of toasted coconut the last time though and it was still really nice with the regular shredded coconut.  I also added about a half of a banana, diced to it the last time and I think that was my favorite yet.  I think this is another one of those great recipes that is versatile and you can add whatever tropical ingredients you like!

Tropical Yogurt Swirl

Serves : 1                     Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 cup fat free vanilla greek yogurt (or any fat free yogurt will work)
  • 1/2 cup fresh pineapple, diced
  • half a ripe banana, diced
  • 1 1/2-2 T. shredded coconut

Directions :

  1. Put yogurt in a bowl, and fold in fruit and coconut.
  2. Enjoy!

Published in: on April 25, 2011 at 8:28 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/day-114-tropical-yogurt-swirl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

