Day 117 : Southwest Bean and Salsa Dip

Jeff surprised me by bringing home dinner tonight so I had to come up with last minute plans for a recipe.  I had a few things left over from various recipes this week, and some I had planned to use in a different recipe which might get pushed back for now, so I decided to do a quick search for something to use up some of them.  I found a similar recipe to the one I will share tonight listed as a Weight Watchers snack and decided to give it a try but didn’t have very high hopes for it honestly since I am not typically a chunky dip kind of person and the thought of a bean dip that wasn’t smooth had me worried.

However, I think this might just be one of, if not THE best salsa/bean type dips I have ever had!  Yes, it’s so simple, but the flavor is so great!  I actually really like the beans and corn in this too, and the fact that this is something you could eat on weight watchers is just the gravy!  I plan to make this many times again and if I get the chance to host a Mexican themed dinner party this is DEFINITELY going to be on the menu for an appetizer!

The recipe I was inspired by said to allow the flavors to marry for a few hours before eating it, but we didn’t have the time to do this tonight.  I can imagine it would only get better with time though.  I did find it to have a bit of heat, but not in a bad way.  For me it was just the right amount.

Southwest Bean and Salsa Dip

Serves : 3-4                         Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 can (15 oz) black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 can (11 oz) corn niblets, drained
  • 1 can rotel tomatoes with chilis, drained
  • 1/2 cup chunky salsa (I used mild)
  • 1/4 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 T. fresh cilantro, chopped
  • chips for dipping

Directions :

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, stir to mix.  Cover and chill for a couple of hours if you have the time before serving.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/28/day-117-southwest-bean-and-salsa-dip/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

