Day 118 : Coconut Key Lime Muffins

I bought some key limes on a whim a while ago and had originally thought to make a key lime pie, but I just never got around to it and wanted to use them before they went bad.  I did a quick search and came across this recipe and decided to give it a try.

As usual, I altered the recipe a tad because I was hoping to make it a little healthier but I am not sure it worked out as well.  We liked them well enough, but they stuck to the papers pretty badly, and had an almost chewy texture and obviously some of that could have been due to my alterations and additions.  I used coconut milk, applesauce in place of oil, and added some shredded coconut to mine.  I also used paper liners, which I have a feeling these muffins would do better without.

Despite the issues though I did enjoy the flavor of these.  A bit bitter perhaps, but I doubt that the key limes we get in our area are of the highest quality/ripeness.  My only complaint though is that key limes are VERY small and in order to get enough juice (I opted for the 1/2 cup) I had to squeeze a ton of them by hand because they were too tiny to work with my juicer.  It was also a bit of a pain to zest them.

Coconut Key Lime Muffins

Serves : 12                        Time to make : 30 minutes (not counting the zesting/juicing lol)

Ingredients :

  • 2 C. all purpose flour
  • 1 C. sugar
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4-1/2 C. fresh key lime juice (don’t substitute)
  • 1/3 C. milk
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp. grated key lime zest
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Directions :

  1. Combine first 4 dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl combine the rest and mix well.
  3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until just moist.
  4. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full and bake for 18 minutes or until lightly browned at 400 degrees.
  5. Immediately turn muffins out of pan to cool.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/29/day-118-coconut-key-lime-muffins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

