Day 119 : Spicy Thai Tuna Roll

Instead of going to the store today I decided to use up some of the stuff we already had again.  Like I’ve said before, it really helps me to use things up and waste less if I have to get creative, and that’s just what I did today.  I was pretty surprised at how it turned out, and though I think it is good as-is, I might make minor changes if I were to plan ahead for it.

For example, I would use fresh basil if given the choice, and I might choose a different cheese like monteray jack, or even different lettuce.  The addition of some finely chopped red peppers might be nice too.  For the tuna I buy these things called Tuna Sensations, and they come in various flavors.  I usually get the lemon pepper or sun-dried tomato ones and have used them in various ways in the past.  This was the first time I tried the thai one and by itself I was not impressed and almost didn’t continue to make my lunch, but after I doctored it I really did like it.  One thing I left out though was the spicy thai pepper on top, since I felt it was pretty spicy already without it.  I also took the crackers out and will just use them elsewhere.

I didn’t really measure everything so I will give estimations below.

Spicy Thai Tuna Roll

Serves : 1             Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 can Tuna Sensations Spicy Thai Chili (use crackers elsewhere)
  • 1 1/2- 2 T. mayo (however creamy you like your tuna)
  • basil, I used about 1 tsp dried, but I would use maybe 1/2-1 T. fresh or thai holy basil would be great
  • 1 T. fresh cilantro chopped
  • dry roasted peanuts, chopped (about 1-1 1/2 T.)
  • lettuce (I used spring mix) . enough for a layer on the wrap
  • low fat mozzarella, small handful
  • 1 light Flatout wrap

Directions :

  1. mix together tuna, mayo, basil, and cilantro.
  2. layer lettuce on wrap, then cheese.
  3. place the tuna towards one end about an inch or so in and just make a sort of log shape with it that almost reaches both sides.
  4. Sprinkle peanuts on top of tuna.
  5. Starting at the side with the tuna, roll up tightly and cut in half.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/day-119-spicy-thai-tuna-roll/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Very cool idea. I love how these ingredients are ones I normally have on hand.


Leave a Reply

