Day 125 : Derby Special

On a whim I told Jeff to purchase some cointreau last weekend without really knowing what it was.  I just knew that I had often come across it in my recipe searches and felt aggravated when I didn’t have any.  I remembered it being for things like margaritas is all.  Well it turns out that it is an orange flavored liqueur, and not a cheap one at that!  I already had triple sec on hand which is an orange liqueur but I must admit that the cointreau does taste a bit better…. sweeter maybe.

Since today is Friday I figured it was a good day to have a drink.  I searched through my huge book of drink recipes for those that called for cointreau and suddenly there were a lot fewer than I remembered and those that did call for it also required things like vermouth, brandy, or gin…. none of which we keep on hand.  I came across this one and it was the only one that we had all the ingredients for so that’s the one I chose lol.

The funny thing is that both Jeff and I felt that it tasted rather like a gin type drink in the end.  I was assuming it would be more like a margarita given the ingredients, but it was definitely more like a gin drink and something more for Jeff than I.

Derby Special

Serves : 1                  Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 1/2 oz. light rum
  • 1/2 oz. cointreau
  • 1 oz. orange juice
  • 1/2 oz. lime juice
  • ice

Directions :

  1. Add approximately 4 oz. cracked ice to a blender
  2. Pour in light rum, cointreau, orange juice and lime juice.
  3. Blend at medium speed until smooth.
  4. Pour into a highball glass.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/05/06/day-125-derby-special/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

