Day 126 : Tuna Burger Sensations

This is one of my own recipes.  I came up with it about a year or so ago.  I had been eyeballing a few similar recipes but none worked just right for me, and though I had never even had a tuna burger before, I decided to just come up with my own.  I was quite pleased with the results and have made them many times since then.

The name comes from those Tuna Sensations I mentioned in a different recipe.  I typically use the sun-dried tomato variety for this, but I plan to try the lemon pepper one next time or maybe even the thai one.  The burger is full of flavor and very simple to make.  One thing I hadn’t expected when I first made them was that they are rather soft where a typical burger would be somewhat chewy.  The softness makes it the perfect food for my youngest who has yet to get any molars.  Just be sure you handle them with care while cooking so they can retain their burger shape throughout.

Tuna Burger Sensations

Serves : 2                   Time to make : 15 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 can of tuna sensations (sun dried tomato flavor)
  • 2/3 cup italian bread crumbs
  • 1/3 cup green onions, chopped
  • 1/3 cup fat free sour cream
  • 1/2 tsp. buttermilk ranch salad dressing mix
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/3 cup low fat cheddar cheese
  • 2 multigrain sandwich thins
  • 2 lettuce leaves
  • 1 1/2-2 T. light mayo
  • cooking spray

Directions :

  1. Place 1/3 cup of the bread crumbs into a shallow dish and set aside.
  2. In a bowl combine the rest of the bread crumbs, tuna, onions, sour cream, ranch dressing mix, egg white, and cheese.  Mix well.
  3. Form into two balls and roll in the bread crumbs to coat well, then gently form into patties.
  4. Heat a skillet on medium-high heat and generously coat with the cooking spray.
  5. Cook burgers until browned on each side, about 4 minutes per side.
  6. Place on the sandwich thins with mayo and lettuce leaves.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/05/07/day-126-tuna-burger-sensations/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

