Day 127 : Honey Ginger Grilled Salmon

Happy Mother’s Day!  My day was filled with both joy and sadness.  Of course I am a mom to two wonderful little boys, but I am also a daughter and this is my first Mother’s Day since my own mother passed from breast cancer.  It was a bittersweet day.

Even though I had to cook for myself tonight (they did surprise me with breakfast) I wanted to make it something special for the occasion.  I decided that salmon was a good idea since we had to go grocery shopping today and this was just the first recipe I came across that looked good.  It is definitely an easy recipe, and the flavors were very nice.  I imagine as with most marinades the longer you let it sit the better the flavors, but I only had a few hours since I got the stuff this afternoon.  Even with the shorter marinade time the flavors were obvious in the salmon.  I grilled mine on the foreman and it only took a few minutes that way.

Honey Ginger Grilled Salmon

Serves : 4                      Time to make : 15 minutes (+ marinade time)

Ingredients :

  • 1 1/2 lbs salmon fillet
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 green onion, sliced

Directions :

  1. Combine all but the salmon in a bowl and whisk together.
  2. Place salmon in a shallow dish and pour marinade over the fillets.
  3. Cover and allow to sit for at least 4 hours.
  4. Heat grill and coat with non-stick cooking spray.
  5. Grill salmon until cooked through and flaky, brushing marinade over about half way through cooking.

Published in: on May 8, 2011 at 7:06 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/day-127-honey-ginger-grilled-salmon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

