Day 132 : Chili-Curry Mixed Nuts

I buy a lot of flavored almonds… a lot!  I know nuts are fatty, but they are also really good for you.  Anyway, I was getting a bit tired of the same flavors all the time so decided to try making some of my own for a change.  I found this recipe on Key Ingredient and it looked like just the thing since I like spicy/salty nuts.

I did have a bit of trouble finding unsalted versions of the nuts called for, so what I was I bought a small bag of the pecan halves because those are easy to find in the baking section.  Then for the others I bought a can of southbeach diet nuts because they were the least salty I could find.  They were a mix of cashews, almonds and macadamian nuts though…. no peanuts.  I decided that was fine by me since I am really not a fan of eating straight peanuts anyway.

They are super simple to make and have a nice flavor.  It is somewhat spicy/salty, but also has a sort of “autumn” flavor to me for some reason.  They are maybe a bit greasy with the oil, so I might try cutting back next time, but it didn’t bother me for taste so much as for health benefits.   I can’t wait to try other flavors now!

Chili-Curry Mixed Nuts

Serves : 1 2/3 cups                  Time to make : 20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 cup pecan halves
  • 1/2 cup whole almonds
  • 1/3 cup unsalted cashews
  • 1/3 cup unsalted peanuts
  • 2 T. vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine nuts in a large bowl.  Heat oil in a small skillet over medium heat and stir in curry and chili powders.  Warm spices until aromatic, but do not brown.  Pour over nuts and toss, coating well.
  2. Spread nuts over large baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.   Toss with kosher salt.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  They’ll get crunchier as they cool to room temp.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/day-132-chili-curry-mixed-nuts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. These are great for munching on while watching a movie. You can also be a little daring and replace the vegetable oil with melted butter (mmm..)
    Awesome, simple, hassle-free recipe; thanks for sharing!

  2. Wunderful! Easy to make and yet so lovely tasting. Since I’m a fan of hot Curry and Chili also, I like this nuts very much.


Leave a Reply

