Day 133 : Captain’s Nest

It was a great day today.  Had to take the little one in to the doctor to get his shots, but even with that rough start it was a good day.  The sun was shining, the temperature was perfect, we got some much needed yard work accomplished, went on a family drive, got a mocha from my favorite new coffee place, went out to eat, and found some fun decorations for our flower beds.  I decided to finish the night with some adult beverages to really relax.  I asked Jeff what type of alcohol from our veritable liquor store he wanted me to base the drinks off of, and his choice was Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum.

I looked on their website and this one sounded right up my alley.  According to Jeff it turns his “manly” alcohol into a girly one, but that’s ok with me lol.  The drink was pretty good, but I think it could have been a lot better if I had not used up the last of our fresh pineapple earlier today and been forced to use canned for this.  The pineapple juice is one of the prominent flavors of the drink is just nothing compared to fresh!  I also might have preferred my usual orange juice of choice (sunny D) over the more bland variety I used since I had it on hand from a different recipe.  Like I said though, the drink was enjoyable and had a nice tropical taste to it.

I just want to take a second to explain the picture tonight…. I was admittedly a little drunk at the time (had a large margarita with dinner lol) and I thought it would be great to push the pirate/tropical theme with a pirate’s treasure chest and other various items I had from Tahiti and whatnot.  I raided my jewelry box, my son’s rock collection and took his pirate chest to get what I have to say looked like a nice bit of loot!  And then I threw the tropical stuff in as well with the captain morgan bottle.

Captain’s Nest :

Serves : 1                Time to make : 3 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 oz. Captain Morgan’s Original Spiced Rum
  • 2 oz. pineapple juice
  • 2 oz. orange juice
  • 1/4 oz. amaretto
  • lime slice
  • ice

Directions :

  1. Combine rum, pineapple juice, orange juice and amaretto in a shaker filled with ice.  Shake until well blended and chilled.
  2. Strain into an iced filled glass and garnish with lime slice.

* as a variation… I made enough for two, and instead of 4 oz of orange juice (2oz per serving) I used 3 oz. juice and 1 oz. cointreau.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/05/14/day-133-captains-nest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

