Day 137 : Nutella Rice Krispie Treats

I love a good rice krispie treat, so when I came across these I knew I had to make them.  I realize they are not low fat or calorie and it isn’t going to help my need to diet, but I just couldn’t resist.  They sure do taste good though!   The nutella, though obvious, is not overpowering as I feared it might be with so much of it.

The one issues I had, which really isn’t much of an issue since it turned out fine, was that the nutella didn’t seem to want to melt in.  I put it back on the burner for a little bit while stirring, taking care not to burn it, and ended up with more of a thick caramel type thing but it worked out fine.  I haven’t made many rice krispies so I am not sure how thick the stuff is supposed to be but it did seem a bit on the thicker side.  At least I got a major arm workout trying to stir in the cereal lol.

Nutella Rice Krispie Treats

Serves : 15                     Time to make : 10 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 4 T. butter (1/2 stick)
  • 1 pkg (10 oz.) regular sized marshmallows or 4 cups mini marshmallows
  • 1 cup nutella
  • 6 cups rice krispies

Directions :

  1. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a saucepan over low heat melt the butter and add marshmallows stirring until they are melted.
  3. Take off the heat and add nutella, stirring until melted.
  4. Add cereal and stir until combined.  Spraying the spoon with cooking spray can make this part a little easier.
  5. Press into the prepared dish with some waxed paper and allow to cool before cutting into bars.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/day-137-nutella-rice-krispie-treats/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

