Day 140 : Chicken Pesto Panini

Tonight’s creation is sort of a culmination of a few recipes.  I had originally planned to make something similar and had the ingredients, but when I read the directions and realized I was going to have to do WAY more prep-work than I had thought I decided to scrap it and see if I could find something else.  I found a couple things, but none were just what I wanted so I sort of made up my own.  They turned out great, and were definitely easy to make.

You could substitute whatever bread you wanted for this.  You could also make your own grilled chicken or whatever and use that.  Since I used a rotisserie chicken that was already cooked I didn’t get a chance to flavor it how I would like so I just put some italian seasoning and salt and pepper on it after I shredded it up.  If you felt so inclined, you could also make your own pesto for this but the store bought stuff works just fine too.

Chicken Pesto Panini

Serves : 3                    Time to make : 15 minutes

Ingredients :

  • about half of a rotisserie chicken, shredded
  • about 1/2 cup basil pesto
  • 6 slices provolone
  • 1/2-2/3 cup roasted red peppers
  • 2-3 T. sun dried tomatoes
  • 3 ciabatta rolls
  • land o lakes tuscan style spreadable butter (or whatever you have)

Directions :

  1. Shred your chicken, and season if you want with some italian seasoning, salt and pepper.
  2. Spread pesto on both sides of ciabatta.
  3. Place a piece of cheese down, then the roasted red peppers and sun dried tomatoes, and then the chicken and another slice of cheese.  Top with the other half of the ciabatta.
  4. In a large skillet over medium-high heat… spread butter on the tops of each assembled sandwich and place top down into the skillet.  Using a second skillet, place on top of the sandwiches and put something heavy in it to press down on your sandwiches.  A couple large cans of food work well for this. 
  5. When tops are browned, butter the bottoms and flip to brown the other side, placing the skillet with weights on top again.
  6. Cut in half and serve.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/day-140-chicken-pesto-panini/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Simple and delicious. Gotta love pesto!


Leave a Reply

