Day 151 : Nanny’s Veggie Dip

While this is not my nanny it must have been someone’s, and IMO she knew what she was doing.  This is a great simple dip that uses things almost everyone has on hand at any given time.  For the purpose of showing just that I went with the dried versions as stated in the recipe, but I bet fresh ingredients could make this even better!  I almost always have onions, parsley, and garlic on hand, as I am sure many others do as well.

I made this today to dip carrots in because I was hoping to keep my caloric intake a little low for the afternoon since I knew we were eating out tonight.  However, once I made it and brought it into the living room to share in a sort of picnic Archer quickly decided he wanted some too, and I wasn’t comfortable with him having the carrots so I asked Jeff to grab some crackers for him to dip.  Tried it with the veggie ritz crackers and it was SOOOO good.  I could easily have eaten a whole sleeve of crackers that way myself.

Anyway, this is great for a crowd, either at a party or maybe a picnic or whatever.  Just make sure you give it some time to chill and let the flavors marry before you serve it.

 

Nanny’s Veggie Dip

Serves : about a cup                  Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 cup fat free sour cream
  • 1/2 cup low fat mayo
  • 1/2 T. parsley flakes
  • 1/2 T. dried onion flakes
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 T. prepared mustard

Directions :

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and stir well to mix.
  2. Cover and chill for a couple hours before serving.

Published in: on June 12, 2011 at 8:12 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/06/12/day-151-nannys-veggie-dip/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

