Kicking off the Fall Season with some Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins!

Let me just start off by saying WOW!  My house sure smells amazing right now!  Not only were these muffins quick, and delicious, but they were also made from things I had on hand which is always a good thing.  This is especially true when you are trying to bake on a budget so to speak.  Maybe not everyone has cans of pumpkin on hand but I usually have at least three at any given time.

We really enjoyed these muffins, and my only thought is that it could stand to have even more spice to it, whether you use cinnamon or pumpkin spice, or nutmeg or ginger or whatever.  The recipe actually called for 2 Tsp. of cinnamon but I did 1 Tsp. cinnamon and 1 Tsp. pumpkin spice.  I also did 1 cup sugar, and 1 cup brown sugar for these.  I am pretty sure the recipe called for milk chocolate chips, but I tend to prefer dark chocolate so that is what I had on hand.  I don’t think you can go wrong with chocolate though.

I realize Fall has already started, and even the weather of late has been right on track for this great season.  However, in my house it isn’t truly Fall until October when we get to decorate for Halloween and start making all the yummy fall treats.  It’s also the month of my oldest son’s birthday so it’s always extra special now.  Anyway, these were the perfect thing to round out a day of decorating, and I hope everyone else is enjoying their fall as much as we are!

 

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Serves : 28-30 muffins            Time to make : 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 16 oz. canned pumpkin
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 12 oz. chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Combine the eggs through oil into a large bowl and whisk until smooth.
  2. In a separate bowl combine the flour through salt and then gradually incorporate into the wet ingredients until mixed well.
  3. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  4. Fill muffin cups (greased or lined)  3/4 full and bake in a preheated oven at 375 degrees for 16-20 minutes.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/kicking-off-the-fall-season-with-some-pumpkin-chocolate-chip-muffins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

