Chicken Gyros, & Greek Inspired Pizza with Tzatziki!

I know it’s been a while since I have posted anything to this blog and I regret that, but the important thing is that I am here now posting up a fantastic recipe for all my followers to enjoy! 🙂

Quick rundown of life since I last posted.. been pretty busy with the holidays, recently going back on a diet, and we are in the process of selling our home in Idaho, and purchasing another here in Oregon.  As you can imagine life is hectic, and cooking is not always a top priority these days….. or at least it hasn’t been.  Like I said, I have recently gotten back on a diet (tracking calories) and so I am being forced to take a closer look at my food again and eat at home more often. For the most part I am repeating recipes I have made in the past and know to be lower in calorie, but as I come across others I will try to find the time to post them here again.

The recipe I am going to share with you today is definitely a winner, and by no means does it seem like “diet food”.  It rivals any traditional gyro I have ever had, and by using the chicken and controlling the ingredients by making it at home you are eating much fewer calories.  The process looks a little involved, but it’s more work to type it out than it actually is to make them I promise.  So whether you are dieting like me, or just love gyros I highly recommend making these tasty little treats in the near future!

*sorry if the pics are a bit dark…. I have a new computer and still figuring things out.  Calibration is something I haven’t really gotten to yet, and besides that I haven’t really found the sweet light in the apartment yet anyway 🙂

Chicken Gyros

For serving:
4 pita flatbread (I use Smart & Delicious traditional flatbreads)
diced tomatoes (about 8-10 cherry tomatoes)
diced red onion (about 1/3 cup)
parsley (about 1/4 cup, chopped)
feta (I used about 4 T. of the President Mediterranean Herb Blend)

For Chicken:
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
juice and rind of one lemon
2 tsp. red wine vinegar
2 T. olive oil
2 heaping T. nonfat greek yogurt (Fage O%, strained variety works best)
1 T. dried oregano
salt and pepper to taste
1 lb chicken breasts, boneless/skinless

Tzatziki:
2 C. nonfat greek yogurt (again the Fage 0% strained)
1 large cucumber, peeled with seeds removed and diced very fine
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. white wine vinegar
salt and pepper to taste (I like to use sea salt and white pepper)
lemon juice to taste (I use about a T. or so)

1. To make chicken combine the ingredients (other than chicken) in a bowl and whisk together.  Place chicken in marinade and toss to coat making sure it is fully submerged.  Cover and allow to sit in the fridge for at least 4 hours or up to 6.

2. To make tzatziki start by dicing your cucumber.  You want to make sure it is very fine since there will not be any processing as in some other tzatziki recipes.  Once you have it all cut up place it in the middle of a stack of paper towels and making a sort of pouch with the towels squeeze as much of  the excess water from the cucumber that you can.  You can repeat this step if you like.  Combine the cucumber with the remaining sauce ingredients and store in an airtight container in the fridge, allowing to sit for at least 2 hours before serving.  The longer it sits the more the flavors will marry as well.

3.  To cook the chicken preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place chicken on a foil-lined baking sheet and bake 20-30 minutes or until the chicken is fully cooked through and juices run clear.  If you are working with thick breasts it can be helpful to pound them out a little before you marinate for faster cooking.  Once done allow to rest for a few minutes before slicing on the diagonal into strips.

 4. Assemble gyros by first warming flatbread in the microwave between some damp paper towels for about 20 seconds.  Place the warmed flatbread in the center of a square of foil on the counter.  Then place 2 T. of the tzatziki, a quarter of the meat, tomatoes, onions, parsley and feta.  Then fold the side over the other just enough for them to overlap in the middle.  Roll up in the foil bringing one end up to the center like you would for a burrito, and then tear the foil partway down all the way around the gyro to expose a bit of it.  This helps hold it together while eating and you just tear away the foil as you go.

As an added treat, I am also going to include my own little recipe for a mini pizza I have been enjoying almost daily.  I had extra from making the gyros and needed a lite lunch and this was the result…. the flavor in this little pizza is AMAZING and could easily be made into a full size pizza as well for everyone to enjoy.

Greek Inspired Mini Pizza with Tzatziki

1 flatbread (I use the same from above)
1 tsp. garlic flavored olive oil
course sea salt, just a pinch
dried oregano to taste
garlic powder to taste
Greek or Italian seasoning to taste
4-5 cherry tomatoes, thinly sliced
1 T. Mediterranean Herb Feta
3 T. prepared Tzatziki sauce

1. Preheat oven to 375.
2. Place flatbread on a small baking sheet and drizzle oil over one side. 
3. Season with the salt, oregano, garlic powder and Greek or Italian seasoning blend to taste.  I usually just take each and lightly tap over the entire thing until it’s covered.
4. Slice tomatoes very thin and arrange on top of your flatbread in single layer leaving a little space between slices.
5. Sprinkle the feta over top.
6. Bake for 15 minutes, and cut into 8 slices.
7. Top with tzatziki by dropping a bit onto each slice

Thanks for checking in and I hope you will stick around for whatever I have to share next!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/chicken-gyros-greek-inspired-pizza-with-tzatziki/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Finally………………
    I thought I was going to starve…………..
    Just kidding.
    It looks good.
    jas

  2. Thanks for the recipe for the pizza! We just made gyros the other night and I was trying to figure out what do with the left over tzatziki sauce & all the veggies we bought! I’m totally making pizza tonight!


Leave a Reply

