Italian Chicken Cups

For those out in cyber space following this blog, THANK YOU!  I know I have been a terrible blogger this past year…. well let’s face it, a non-existent one would better describe me…. but I really hope I will find more time this year now that things are more settled here.  We moved a couple times, and life just got busy, but now we are in our new home and I am getting used to our new schedules and finding more time to do the things I love.  Anyway, I guess I haven’t done too bad, considering this year I still had close to 10 thousand views on this blog even though I only made one post lol.  Not bad at all.  Let’s see how many I can get this year.

So for my first post in a very long time… I give you Italian Chicken Cups.  Nothing really complicated to make, but this is one of my own recipes, and I have to admit it’s a great one!  There is so much flavor packed into these adorable little bundles that you won’t believe how easy they are to prepare.  And the presentation is perfect for a dinner party with friends.  I make them as a main course, but I have had suggestions from people that have tried them that they might also do well as an appetizer.

Notes:  I have used various different kinds of biscuits for these, but I prefer the Grands ones by pilsbury.  There are 8 in a package and they are nice, big, and fluffy.  When I make the chicken I just season with salt and pepper, and a bit of Italian seasoning before grilling up on a counter top grill.

Italian Chicken Cups

serves 4-8             time to make : 25-30 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1  large chicken breast, cooked (see note above)
  • 1 roll of refrigerated biscuits (see note above)
  • 1/4 cup sliced Kalamata olives
  • 1/4 cup artichoke hearts, diced
  • 2-3 T. roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 cup zesty Italian dressing
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 T. fresh parsley, minced
  • 2-3 T. shredded parmesan

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and lightly spray 8 of your 12 muffin cups.
  2. Cut up chicken into small pieces, and combine with olives, artichokes, tomatoes, dressing, lemon zest, lemon juice, and parsley in a medium bowl.  Set aside.
  3. Using your hands stretch the biscuit out, keeping their circular shape until they are about twice the size.  Press into the prepared muffin pan allowing them to cup up out of the top and form a cup.
  4. Spoon filling into cups and bake according to package directions for your biscuits.  Using the Pilsbury Grands it is about 15 minutes I find in my oven.  In the last 5 minutes add the cheese to the tops if you want it to get melty, otherwise you can add it at the end.

_MG_4811-1-2
_MG_4817-1

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/italian-chicken-cups/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

