Chocolate Mug Cake (Eggless)

You may have heard of the mug cake; a single serving cake baked in a mug in the microwave.  I have been intrigued by it for quite some time, but hadn’t gotten around to trying it myself.  I don’t know why, but I have doubts about food cooked solely in a microwave.  As I was browsing through FoodGawker the other day I came across yet another recipe and was convinced by the image I saw… that of a moist, fluffy cake dripping with honey.  Since I am counting calories I didn’t use any honey, but I imagine it would be even better with something on top.  Perhaps even some chocolate syrup!  I just went with a simple powdered sugar embellishment for today.

The cake itself is only good, at least without something to top it off.  However, I know there are countless recipes out there for these cakes so perhaps others have perfected the ingredients for an even tastier cake.  This one though is eggless, which is going to really help keep the calories down for those like me that just want a taste of cake without having an entire cake left over to tempt you for the next few days.  I actually split it with my husband and two boys today so I only got a fourth, but it was just enough to quiet that voice inside me SCREAMING for chocolate on a daily basis lol.  The best thing about this cake IMO is how quick it all comes together.  You can be enjoying a nice serving of cake in a little more than 5 minutes tops!

Today I used mini chocolate chips since that’s what I had on hand, but the recipe didn’t specify.  I do think they worked best though since they sunk to the bottom and made the cake a little hard to get out in one flawless piece (which is no big deal, and doesn’t detract from the taste at all).  I imagine a larger chip would only be worse.  I used a ramekin for mine today because I wanted a wider cake to share with everyone, but any large sized mug would probably work, or even a small glass bowl.

 

Chocolate Mug Cake (Eggless)

Serves : 1                           Time to make : 5 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 3 T. all purpose flour
  • 1 T. cocoa powder
  • 1 T. chocolate chips
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 T. brown sugar
  • pinch salt
  • 3 T. milk
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions :

  1. In a small bowl combine flour, cocoa powder, chocolate chips, baking powder, brown sugar, and salt.  Stir to combine and break up any lumps.
  2. In a separate bowl combine milk, oil, and vanilla and whisk with a fork to combine. 
  3. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients stirring until just combined, do not over stir.
  4. Grease a mug, ramekin, or small glass bowl (I used some shortening) and pour in your batter.
  5. Microwave on high for exactly 1 minute, keeping a close eye through the door (don’t open) around 40 seconds just to be sure it’s not going to spill over, though you shouldn’t have any issues.
  6. Allow to cool for a couple minutes before running a knife around the edges and overturning onto a plate.

chocolatemugcake

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/01/05/chocolate-mug-cake-eggless/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

