Chicken Nacho Soup

I may have mentioned before that I am not much of a soup person, but that doesn’t stop me from trying them from time to time.  In doing so, I have actually found a couple I really like, which is a pretty big change from hating all soups.  Tonight’s soup was pretty good, but I am not sure it will become a favorite for me personally.  I think I would have liked it to be a tad creamier somehow, or a little less hot sauce since that was the dominating flavor to me.  I did like it with the chips for dipping though, and as far as soups go I would probably eat it again just to keep things different once in a while… perhaps with the changes I mentioned.  Jeff eats soup a lot more often than me and he said it was good, so perhaps he’s a better judge for this one.

It comes together quite easily, and doesn’t need a lot of time to cook which is always a good thing on those busy weeknights.  I love that it uses rotisserie chicken because that’s even less work you have to do, and I just really like rotisserie chicken.  At first I wasn’t sure what the recipe meant by “nachos”, but I decided it must have meant tortilla chips since the article also mentioned dipping them in the soup and some were pictured with it.  So anyway, I went with an Artisan Toasted Southwestern variety and they were perfect for this.  For the cheese I used Monteray Jack, but I bet cheddar, mozzarella, or even pepper jack if you really like the heat would also be good.

Chicken Nacho Soup

Serves : 4-6             Time to make : 40 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 rotisserie chicken, shredded
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 3 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 (8 oz) package cream cheese (I used fat free)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 4 C. chicken broth
  • 1 T. hot sauce
  • 3 T. tomato paste
  • 1 C. nachos, crumbled
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • shredded cheese for topping
  • cilantro or parsley for topping (optional)

Directions :

  1. Heat oil in a large soup pot or dutch oven over medium heat.  Cook onions in hot oil until translucent.  Add garlic and jalapenos and cook a minute more.
  2. Add water and cream cheese, stirring until cheese is melted.  Add crumbled nachos next, this helps to thicken the soup.  Add chicken, corn, and salsa and stir to combine.  Then add your broth, hot sauce, and tomato paste and stir again.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a low boil and simmer for about 20 minutes.
  3. Serve with shredded cheese, cilantro, and more nachos for dipping.

Recipe from Jo Cooks

chickennachosoup

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/01/25/chicken-nacho-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

