Crockpot Chalupas

It has been a busy week with being sick, appointments/activities for the kids, and hurting my back but I am finally getting the recipe up for dinner last Friday.  I don’t often cook with my crockpot, but when I do I always love how easy it is, and how great my house smells all day.  I should use it more, but I have this weird fear about actually leaving my house while it’s on, which is silly since that is kind of the point of a crockpot…. being able to start something in the morning/early afternoon, going about your day and having it ready for dinner.  Anyway, this dish definitely delivered on being easy and smelling great.  I didn’t think it delivered quite as well on taste however.  It wasn’t bad, I just wanted MORE flavor/spice I think.

We served ours with sour cream, cheese, and a little lettuce on top originally, and as I said it was just a little bland for my tastes.  But after I was done as I was discussing it with Jeff I had the idea to put a little salsa on top so I tried a little that way and it was AWESOME.  So with that little addition this ends up being a keeper afterall.  Additionally I would have added more spices and salt and pepper to the crockpot too.

I did have a little trouble with the beans… even after the 8.5 hours of cook time I felt they were a little on the firm side.  We were rather hungry so they were good enough lol, but I would have liked them to have gotten a little softer.  It was my first time cooking with dry beans, and sadly wasn’t convincing enough for me to want to do it again any time soon.  I wonder if you could get away with canned beans for this, or if the long cook time would result in them becoming too soft.  I also hadn’t used pork shoulder before, as pork isn’t something I cook with often.  Being as picky as I am about fat and the chewy parts it was kind of a hassle to clean them up when I got the shredding part, but not impossible, and likely most people would have left a lot of what I took out.  One more thing… I did end up putting a little more water in (maybe a half a cup) during the cooking process because I wanted to keep the meat and beans submerged as best I could, so towards the end when it was looking a little too liquid I just took the lid off during the cooktime for a while.

 

Crockpot Chalupas

Serves : 12                Time to make : about 8.5 hours total

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb pork shoulder
  • 1 (15 oz) can fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1 lb. dry pinto beans, rinsed
  • 2 jalapenos, seeded and minced
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 oz. light beer
  • 2 tsp. chili powder
  • 2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1 T. taco seasoning
  • generous pinch or two of salt
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 3/4 C. shredded cheese
  • 12+ flour tortillas (we used medium sized and filled them a little fuller so only got about 6-8)

Directions :

  1. Place pork shoulder in crockpot and cover with beans, tomatoes, beer, jalapenos, garlic, spices, and water.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 4-6 without opening the lid as that adds to the cook time.
  2. Remove lid and shred pork shoulder with two forks, this can be done in the crockpot or on a plate and put back in.  If it’s too runny cook a bit longer with the lid off, and if it’s dry add a little more water.
  3. Sprinkle cheese on top and cook another 30 minutes with the lid on until cheese has melted.
  4. Meanwhile preheat broiler.  Place tortillas directly on your oven racks and bake for a couple minutes just until golden brown before flipping and repeating on other side.  Watch closely as they can burn quickly.  Remove from oven and allow to cool.
  5. Top each with your pork and bean mixture and sour cream.  (see additional topping options above)

Recipe from pinch of yum

crockpotchalupas

Published in: on January 30, 2013 at 9:59 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/crockpot-chalupas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What if you tried soaking the beans in a pot of water overnight first?

    • That is what I am thinking you’d have to do to ensure they got soft enough, especially if you opted for a shorter cook time. I just wonder if that defeats the purpose of a quick throw it all in meal though. I like the ease of opening a can of beans, rinsing them, and dumping them in lol.


Leave a Reply

