Knock You Naked Brownies

If you have already “liked” my facebook page (link on right side of blog) you have probably heard about these and been waiting for the recipe.  I believe I used the word AMAZEBALLS to describe them the other day lol.  Yes, they are a little insane, and perhaps even unnecessarily over the top, but they are seriously the best brownie I have ever had.  The texture of the brownie is perfect, soft and chewy and full of nuts.  Then you get that thick gooey layer of melty caramel with chocolate chips! YUM!!  By the way, I have no idea where the name came from, but I assure you, people will leave their clothes on…. probably!

I was pretty surprised that the brownie portion came from a cake mix, and if you are concerned, don’t be.  I honestly couldn’t tell it had if I didn’t already know.  It sure makes preparation easy though!  In fact, the entire recipe is quite easy to make, and results in not only a delicious brownie, but also an impressive looking one.  I got the recipe from Pioneer Woman, which for those who are unfamiliar is a cooking show about a woman who lives on a Ranch, and cooks for her family.  In the recipe she mentions a 9×9 pan, but I think I watched her use an 8×8 which is what I also used.  You could use either, but she also mentioned that the original recipe called for a 9×13 pan.  If you want a giant thick gooey brownie go with the square pans, but if you don’t have one go for the other.  I cut mine into 9 brownies, and while they were on the “too large” size, I feel like if I had gone for 12 it might have made them even harder to get out of the pan.  It’s not so much that they stick to the pan (as long as you grease it well) as that the caramel layer makes them hard to separate without breaking them trying to get them out.  Just go slow and make sure you slice all the way through and all the way around.

You are going to want to cut into these right away…. DON’T!  They really do need time to set up in the fridge.  So plan ahead for these.  I made them for our Superbowl party, and so I made them the night before and didn’t cut into them until that morning.  Wait to put the powdered sugar on until just before you cut them.  If you can’t wait over night I suggest at least 3-4 hours in the fridge.

 

Knock You Naked Brownies

Serves : 9-12                          Time to make : 40 minutes + chill time

Ingredients :

  • 1 box German Chocolate Cake mix
  • 1 C. finely chopped pecans
  • 1/3 C. evaporated milk
  • 1/2 C. butter, melted
  • 1/2 C. evaporated milk (additional)
  • 60 whole caramels, unwrapped
  • 1/3 C. semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 C. powdered sugar

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, combine cake mix, pecans, butter, and 1/3 C. evaporated milk.  Stir until well combined.  Batter will be thick.  Pat it down in bowl with a spatula and cut it in half.
  3. Take one half and press it into a well-greased 9×9 (see notes above) pan and bake for 8-10 minutes.  You just need it to set up, so don’t worry about cooking it longer.  Once done, set aside.
  4. Place your caramels and the 1/2 C. evaporated milk into a double boiler and melt until you get a smooth consistency.  This takes a few minutes.  Pour over the brownie.  Sprinkle chocolate chips evenly over the caramel.
  5. Take the second half of the brownie dough and place it on a piece of wax paper.  Using your hands, shape it into a square (about the same size as the pan, but just a little smaller because it will expand).  Using the wax paper will allow you to easily turn it over and peel it off so you can place it on top of the caramel and chocolate layer.  Bake for 20-25 minutes until the top layer looks done.
  6. Allow to cool then refrigerate for several hours.  Before cutting them, generously sprinkle powdered sugar over the pan in a thick layer.  Take care to loosen and cut all the way around brownies before trying to remove them from pan as the caramel tends to stick.

Recipe from Pioneer Woman

knockyounakedbrownie
knockyounakedbrownie2

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/knock-you-naked-brownies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hello, these look beautiful, would love to try them!

    However, we don’t have German chocolate cake or mix in England, would regular milk chocolate cake mix work/ be the same thing? 🙂

    • I am really not sure. I tried to search for the answer, but I couldn’t find anything. I guess the question would be how the two differ, and whether you’d need to add anything to the regular chocolate cake mix to get the same results. Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful, but if you decide to try it let me know how it turns out!

      • I think I’ve cracked it! Would I be right in thinking that you guys make a caramel/pecan/coconut topping?!

        The actual sponge recipes seem the same as for other chocolate cakes. Does this sound right to you lol? Please say yes haha! 🙂

      • I would guess they are at least very close, and yes for German Chocolate Cake there is typically a coconut/caramel/pecan topping. The only thing I am not sure of is whether the actual batter has any differences, but if it were me I would probably take the chance and go for it lol.

      • I also believe that the batter uses a darker chocolate… so maybe a fudge or devil’s food cake batter would be a better choice if you can get your hands on it.

  2. Good idea, we have devils and fudge chocolate cake mix so I think I’ll use one of those as you suggest. Thanks for all your help! Looking forward getting these baked (and eaten :P)


Leave a Reply

