Blueberry French Toast Sandwiches

This is a fantastic recipe for a special breakfast, or for a brunch perhaps.  We really enjoyed them.  However I did have to make a lot more egg mixture than the recipe stated.  I had doubled it right from the start and about halfway through realized I was going to have to make almost twice as much to coat all six slices (I had purchased thick french toast bread…. which I didn’t know even existed before the other day lol).  So total I did 3.5 batches of the egg mixture.  This wasn’t a problem, except for the fact that I had picked these because I thought I could keep the calorie count down to a reasonable amount by using fat free cream cheese and still be able to have a nice treat…. with the extra eggs I am sure that wasn’t the case any more.

Still, as I said, they were very good and one day isn’t going to make or break me.  I didn’t find them to be very sweet, which was ok by me, but Jeff liked it better with a little blueberry syrup drizzled on top which I thought was nice as well,  just not necessary.  Blueberries are not my first choice when it comes to these things so I want to try this again some time with raspberries perhaps, or if I can get my hand on them, maybe some huckleberries!  I am sure you could also use strawberries, bananas, or whatever you prefer.  Even mix them together!  The presentation is beautiful as well.  It would be perfect to make for that special someone on Valentine’s day, or any other day just to say “I love you”.

 

Blueberry French Toast Sandwiches

Serves: 3                          Time to make : 25 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 6 slices thick bread (sourdough or whatever you prefer)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla (I used 3.5 tsp.)
  • 2 eggs (I used 5 eggs and 2 whites)
  • 1 T. milk or cream (I used 3.5 T. cream)
  • 3/4 C. fresh blueberries, washed and dried
  • 1 pkg. cream cheese, softened (I used fat free)
  • 1 1/2 T. powdered sugar + extra for dusting
  • butter for frying

Directions :

  1. In a medium bowl whisk together eggs, vanilla and cream.  Pour into a shallow dish and start soaking your bread slices in the egg mixture.  Let soak for a couple minutes on both sides.
  2. Heat butter in a skillet over medium heat.  Place your coated bread into the skillet and cook on both sides until golden brown (about 2-3 minutes a side).  Drain grease by placing on a paper towel.  (After this step I then placed them on a plate in the oven set to warm)
  3. Meanwhile combine the soft cream cheese and powdered sugar in a bowl, stirring to mix well. 
  4. Spread cream cheese mixture on all 6 slices of french toast once done and sprinkle blueberries on top of 3 of the slices.  Place remaining three slices on top to make your sandwiches.
  5. Dust with powdered sugar and serve with additional blueberries.

Recipe from Farm Flavor

_MG_5347-2 copy

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/blueberry-french-toast-sandwiches/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I made these for breakfast and they were wonderful. Such a treat.


Leave a Reply

