Grilled Turkey Burgers and Feta

I have tried numerous turkey burgers over the years in an attempt to cut fat/calories from my diet.  Some were good, and others were flavorless and dry.  This is the main issue with turkey burgers.  With the help of a few things you can still have a flavorful and moist burger AND live healthier.  This particular recipe is probably THE best one I have tried thus far.  It was definitely the most moist and though I have done them with feta before this is the first time I have done the sundried tomatoes and their concentrated flavor really goes a long way in something like this.  The tzatziki is a nice addition and not something I would have thought to serve with it.  I took some help from the store and purchased pre-made tzatziki which was ok, but I think next time I will use my own tried and true recipe.

The recipe called for these to be made on a grill, but not only is it still a bit too cold here for grilling weather, but our grill has been out of commission for quite some time.  I typically make burgers and the like on a foreman which is ok, but not great.  It tends to flatten the burgers quite a bit and press all the juices out leaving it almost rubbery.  This is especially bad for turkey burgers!  I recently got a Griddler and have only tried making burgers on it a couple of times but it has all the same issues.  I had just about given up on using it for anything but a griddle or panini maker, but I decided to give it one more shot.  I laid it open flat, using only one side of the grill rather than closing it on the patties.  I wanted them to stay thick.  Then I made sure it was nice and hot before brushing a little olive oil on the side I was going to use.  This helped get some nice color and grill marks on the patties.  Since they grill doesn’t get very hot and I can’t close it like a regular grill I decided to lay a huge glass lid over them that I have which was the perfect size to cover all four without actually touching the patties.  This helped them to cook through all the way and stay nice and moist.

 

Grilled Turkey Burgers and Feta

Serves : 6                         Time to make : 20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 1 1/2 lb ground turkey
  • 1 C. crumbled feta
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 C. breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 C. sundried tomatoes, drained and chopped
  • 1/4 C. onion, diced
  • 2 T. flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano
  • salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
  • tzatziki for serving
  • 6 buns (I used kaiser rolls)
  • baby arugula

Directions :

  1. Preheat grill for 10 minutes. (If you are using a counter top grill you may not need to start it first but you do want it fully heated before you place your burgers down.)
  2. In a medium bowl combine the ground turkey, feta, garlic, egg, breadcrumbs, sundried tomatoes, onion, parsley, oregano, and salt and pepper by hand, being careful not to over mix.
  3. Shape into 6 patties.
  4. Reduce heat to medium on place burgers on lightly greased grill, cooking covered for about 8 minutes or until done through, flipping about halfway through cook time.
  5. Serve with a bit of tzatziki on the bottom and top with baby arugula.

Recipe from Zesty Cook

_MG_5397-1

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/grilled-turkey-burgers-and-feta/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

