Sweet Chili Shrimp Stir-fry

This is a fabulously simple dish, ready in under 20 minutes.  It would be just as good for a special occasion as a quick weeknight meal and has a lot of flavor despite the seemingly simple ingredient list.  I had to really fight the urge not to throw a little something extra in this, and really give it a chance, but I am glad I didn’t.  The peas give it that freshness, the sauce gives it the heat and sweetness, the nuts give it that crunch and have a great buttery texture that just goes so well with the shrimp, and of course the lime just ties it all together and gives it that little something extra.  I almost didn’t even make this because it seemed SO simple, and I wasn’t sure if Jeff would be ok with it.

I accidentally grabbed cooked shrimp when I was at the store, but it was ok since all the flavor is in the sauce and I didn’t have to worry about getting it into the shrimp since it coats everything.  I didn’t have Jasmine rice on hand so went with some boil in a bag brown rice and I actually think it went perfectly with this.  For the chili sauce I had some garlic chili thai sauce already opened so I used that.  My only issue with this recipe was when it was time to photograph it…. it’s not exactly the prettiest dish to look at, but what it lacks in appearance it makes up for in taste!  You won’t regret trying this one.

Sweet Chili Shrimp Stir-fry

Serves : 2         Time to make : less than 20 minutes!

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb shrimp, cleaned and deveined
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/3 C. sweet chili sauce
  • 1 1/4 C. snow peas
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1/2 C. cashews, roughly chopped
  • 1 lime
  • 1 1/2 C. jasmine rice, uncooked (or another quick cooking variety)

Directions :

  1. In a medium sized pot cook rice according to package directions.
  2. In a large skillet, warm the olive oil over moderate heat.  Cook garlic in oil until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add shrimp and saute until pink and cooked through.  Remove from pan.
  3. While shrimp is cooking, trim ends off snow peas and cut into thirds diagonally.
  4. Add sesame oil to the pan and saute snow peas until tender, about 2-3 minutes.
  5. Return the shrimp to the pan and add the sweet chili sauce, cook until  heated through.  Add more chili sauce if necessary.
  6. Serve over rice and top each plate with chopped cashews and a fresh lime cut into wedges.

Recipe from the clever carrot

_MG_5433-1

Published in: on February 14, 2013 at 12:54 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/sweet-chili-shrimp-stir-fry/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m making this again for the second time tonight! Will use frozen shrimp for speed. I think I did last time and it worked great if you just warm the thawed shrimp in the skillet at the same time you’re sautéing the snow peas. : )

  2. P.S. Thanks for the quick dinner ideas and for making my life easier!

    • Lol, glad you like it! I may need to remake this one too… been having a hard time lately finding new ones I like!


Leave a Reply

