Fettuccine with Salmon, Mushrooms & Apsaragus

I love smoked salmon, but I don’t buy it very often.  So when I came across this recipe I knew I had to try it.  I have had smoked salmon in pasta dishes before, and feel it works really well because of the concentrated flavor, as opposed to fresh salmon.  It’s also super easy to just flake already prepared fish into a quick pasta dish, and you can buy it in advance rather than having to make whatever fresh fish you purchased the day you buy it to preserve the freshness.

The recipe I followed was formatted for the metric system, and so I had to do a bit of converting.  This isn’t a big deal with the help of some of the online converters.  But aside from that I find that there are also often differences in things like produce sizes.  Specifically for this recipe, it called for an entire bunch of asparagus, for a pasta that is meant to serve two.  I didn’t think much of it until I started to cut it all up and then it seemed like a LOT!  To my surprise it turned out ok (though I did make a bit more linguine than it called for), but I still have to wonder if I was meant to use that much.  The original recipe also called for swiss brown mushrooms, which I am unfamiliar with (at least by that name) so I used crimini mushrooms, and about 8 oz of them.  One other thing I wasn’t quite certain of was the call for “hot smoked salmon”.  I have no idea if that meant spicy, or if you can perhaps purchase smoked salmon heated or what, but I just went with a nice thick smoked salmon I found in the seafood section of my local grocery store.  To make things easier for all of you, I am just going to share my conversions/alterations when I type up the recipe.

The dish itself really was fantastic by the way.  Full of flavor, nice and creamy….. this is not your figure friendly type of dish necessarily lol…. and had wonderful color to it which you know I appreciate.  This is another one of those recipes that is great for any night of the week, but good enough to stand up to a special occasion or dinner party with friends!

Fettuccine with Salmon, Mushroom & Asparagus

Serves : 2               Time to make : 20 minutes

Ingredients :

  • 8 oz. linguine (though I used more like 12oz)
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 8 oz. sliced brown mushrooms
  • 1 bunch asparagus, roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 12 oz. heavy whipping cream
  • sm. handful chopped parsley (about 2 T.)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 lb. smoked salmon

Directions :

  1. Boil a large pot of water and cook pasta according to package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, heat oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet and saute mushrooms and asparagus for a few minutes until tender.  Add the garlic the last minute to avoid over cooking.    Lower heat to a simmer and pour in the cream.  Simmer for 3 minutes then add the parsley, salt, and pepper.  Stir to combine and remove from heat.
  3. Strain linguine and transfer to the cream mixture.  Toss to combine.  Flake most of the salmon into the pasta, reserving a few pieces to garnish with.  Divide into two bowls and sprinkle a bit of parsley on top with the pieces of salmon.

Recipe from Chew Town

_MG_5470-1

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/02/15/fettuccine-with-salmon-mushrooms-apsaragus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

