Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas

I don’t know about you, but I really enjoy buffalo sauce, and so when I came across this recipe I knew I was going to make it.  I really like the flavors in this, but I think next time I might cut back on the hot sauce just a bit.  The recipe called for 6-8 T, and I just went with the entire 8 because I really like the sauce, but there wasn’t anything to really cut the heat so it was just too much for me.  I ended up having to put a little ranch on top of my quesadillas to combat the heat, which wasn’t a bad thing, unless you wanted to keep calories low.

It doesn’t get much easier than this, especially if you take some help from the store and get a rotisserie chicken.  I tried to grill one on my griddler to get the nice scorch marks on there, but it just made a big mess because they are nice and full and the sauce starts to leak out.  They cook up fine in a skillet though, so I just switched over after the first one.  The recipe also called for either monterey jack or pepper jack and I used pepper jack.  This might have added to the heat factor, so if you don’t use pepper jack you might not have to cut back on the sauce at all depending on your tolerance of course.

Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas

Makes 4 Quesadillas

Ingredients :

  • 2 cups cooked chicken, finely chopped
  • 6-8 T. hot sauce (Like Frank’s wing sauce)
  • 3 T. butter
  • 1 T. brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup scallions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1 cup Monterey Jack or Pepper Jack cheese, shredded
  • oil for brushing the skillet/grill
  • 4 large wheat tortillas

Directions :

  1. Heat butter, hot sauce, and brown sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Bring to boil, remove from heat and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl combine chopped chicken, scallions, cilantro and about 3/4 of your sauce.
  3. Evenly spoon the chicken mixture over half of each tortilla, then do the same with the cheese.  Fold in half.
  4. Heat your grill or skillet and brush with a bit of olive oil.  Cook tortillas until golden brown on each side and cheese has melted.  Remember that once it starts to brown it will burn fast if you aren’t careful so keep an eye out.  Maybe a couple minutes per side.
  5. Slice and serve hot with the rest of the sauce drizzled over the top.  Ranch makes a good topping.

Recipe from simply reem

_MG_5710-1

Published in: on March 4, 2013 at 8:29 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/buffalo-chicken-quesadillas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

