Pan-Seared Chicken with Pink Grapefruit Cream Sauce

This one is not for the unadventurous!  One bite I would feel unsure about it, and almost off-put by the “twang” of it as my husband described it.  But then the next bite I would be totally in love with it’s creamy citrusy flavor.  It was seriously odd… the first taste was weird, and then the very next bite I didn’t notice any of the weirdness that left me so unsure that first bite.  Then I had to step away from the table for a bit and when I came back the first bite again was weird, and the next left me wanting more.  I am going to say overall I really enjoyed this dish, and as I said it is a bit of an adventure.  So if you like very classic and predictable flavors, and don’t like stepping out of your comfort zone this might be one to skip.  However, if you DO like to step out of your comfort zone and open yourself up to new and exciting flavors this could be perfect for you.

I used an extra large grapefruit and ended up with a little more than half a cup of juice from half of it so I just threw it all in.  I used the other half to make my garnishes.  The dish came together very easily, and quickly.  I chose to serve mine over some wide flat noodles which was the perfect thing for all the sauce.  The recipe calls for white wine, and I have to admit I sort of hate when a recipe leaves it so general like that…. there are after all many varieties of white wine to choose from with quite differing flavors.  I decided to keep it fruity and went with a moscato.  I figured that was a wine I would most like to drink with my meal so I could kill two birds with one stone.  I don’t pretend to know that much about wine, so perhaps my choice wasn’t the optimal one, but it worked well for me.

My husband was really worried about dinner tonight when I told him I was making grapefruit chicken, since he claims to hate grapefruit.  But he’s pretty good about trying anything I put in front of him and his verdict was that this was a 7 out of 10.  Not bad for someone who claims to hate grapefruit!

Pan-Seared Chicken with Pink Grapefruit Cream Sauce

Serves : 4

Ingredients :

  • 4 chicken breasts, or 2 larger breasts cut into halves (butterfly style)
  • salt
  • 4 T. unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed pink grapefruit juice
  • 1 T. pink grapefruit zest
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup white wine (I used a Moscato)
  • 2 T. cream cheese
  • 1/4 tsp. ground white pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. sugar
  • more salt to taste

Directions :

  1. In a large skillet, melt butter over medium heat.  Season both sides of your chicken breasts with salt and place in hot skillet.  Brown both sides (about 3-4 minutes per side).  Add grapefruit juice and zest, bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer, cover and cook about 10 minutes, or until chicken is fully cooked through.  Transfer chicken to a dish, cover with foil, and place in a warm oven until ready to serve.
  2. To the skillet add your cream, wine, cream cheese, pepper, and sugar.  Whisk until smooth and bring to a boil.   Boil for about 3-4 minutes or until sauce has slightly thickened.  Add salt to taste if necessary (I didn’t need any at this step)
  3. Serve by spooning sauce over chicken on individual plates or on a warmed platter.  Garnish with some grapefruit slices and parsley.  Suggested to serve this with pasta.

Recipe from The Daring Gourmet

_MG_5781-1

Published in: on March 8, 2013 at 8:06 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/pan-seared-chicken-with-pink-grapefruit-cream-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Alicia, I happened to notice a ping-back from your site and saw your post. I really love your review of my recipe! My husband and I were both chuckling while reading this – the experience you and your husband had was identical to ours. Not quite sure at the first bite, but each subsequent bite became more and more addicting.

    I created this recipe based on a request from one of my subscribers to come up with an entree featuring grapefruit. I didn’t want to resort to the all-too-common “salad with grapefruit wedges”, and wanted to be a little more adventurous. So glad you liked it and that your grapefruit-hating husband was converted. Thanks for taking that second bite!

    Kimberly @ The Daring Gourmet


Leave a Reply

