Roasted Garlic Chicken & Herb White Pizza

There is nothing better than the smell of roasting garlic!  Well maybe coffee, but as far as savory goes garlic is where it’s at!  It’s so simple to do, and roasted garlic makes so many dishes better.  I like it slathered on bread with butter and toasted, in sauces, or even as whole cloves in/on a dish.  There is a pizza from The Rock Wood Fired Pizza & Spirits called Satisfaction that uses whole roasted garlic cloves on top and I just LOVE it!  If you haven’t tried that one, do so next time you are there.

Ok, now to tonight’s pizza.  It was good, but both my husband and I kind of felt like it was lacking in flavor.  I wanted to stay true to the recipe and give it a shot, but I think if I made it again I would go with my gut and throw some whole cloves on it as well.  I also think something like some olives, or maybe kalamata olives would go a long way to kick up the flavor a bit.  I also think I would throw a little Provolone or maybe Asiago on it as well to just give it more complexity of flavor.  It is a good starting point though for sure.

For the pizza dough you could certainly use store bought, either already prepared or in dough form.  If you have the time though (and you could even make this ahead of time, freeze it, and pull it out the morning you want to use it) I strongly suggest making your own, and more specifically Emeril’s recipe which I shared here for the Stromboli recipe.  Seriously great dough, and awesome to work with.

Roasted Garlic Chicken & Herb White Pizza

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb pizza dough
  • 8 cloves roasted garlic, minced (make ahead)
  • 2 T. butter
  • 2 T. flour
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup half and half
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/4 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chicken, shredded (I used rotisserie)
  • 1/4 cup red onion, diced
  • 3/4 cups Mozzarella cheese
  • 1 tsp. fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 T. fresh parsley, chopped

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Prepare a baking sheet with a siplat liner, or grease and sprinkle with cornmeal.  (I use a pizza stone, and with the dough recipe I shared I have found no need for corn meal on the bottom).
  2. Melt butter in a small saucepan. Saute roasted garlic for 1 minute.
  3. Add flour, and mix until well blended. Cook for 1 minute.
  4. Slowly whisk in the milk and half and half. Mix in the pepper.
  5. Cook for about 3 minutes, or until it starts to thicken. Remove from heat, and stir in Parmesan cheese.
  6. Spread dough into roughly a 12 inch circle on prepared baking sheet. Spread white cause over the dough. Top with chicken, red onions and cheese.
  7. Bake for 17 minutes, or until the crust is golden, and the cheese is melted.
  8. Remove from the oven, sprinkle with herbs. Cut and serve immediately.

Recipe from Dinners Dishes & Desserts

_MG_5841-1
_MG_5854-1

_MG_5861-1

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/roasted-garlic-chicken-herb-white-pizza/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

