Patty Melt

In all my years I have not once tried a Patty Melt, until today that is.  It was my mom’s favorite thing to order when we’d go out if it was on the menu and I never even really knew what it was.  I was thinking about her, and it came into my head, and I was suddenly very curious.  So I searched it out, and was surprised to see it was just a burger/grilled cheese.  I figured I could do that.

I decided to go with a pretty basic recipe, though I found others that seemed a little more complex and I am sure great.  I think my mom liked hers on a dark rye, but I couldn’t for the life of me find any at the store, so went with a Russian Rye instead.  I can see why my mom liked them, though I felt this particular version could have used a good deal more cheese.  It is a melt after all and I do love my cheese!  I liked the nice buttery golden bread though and the juicy burger and caramelized onions between.  I think I may try some of the variations out there because it was such a simple yet satisfying sandwich.

 

Patty Melt

Serves : 2

Ingredients :

  • 8 oz. ground beef
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 4 slices rye bread
  • 4 slices swiss cheese
  • 2 T. canola oil
  • 2 T. butter, room temperature (or warmed slightly in the microwave if you forgot to take it out like me)
  • salt and black pepper to taste

Directions :

  1. Divide the meat into two balls. Form each one into a 1/4-inch patty that is just slightly larger than the slices of bread. Season each patty generously with salt and pepper.
  2. Pour 1 tablespoon of the oil into a small skillet set over medium-high heat. Add the onions and cook until browned, about 10 minutes or so. Set aside.
  3. Heat a large cast iron skillet over high heat. Pour in the remaining 1 tablespoon of oil. When it’s hot, add the burger patties. Cook for about 2 minutes per side. They should be well browned, but still slightly medium or medium-rare inside. Set aside.
  4. Top two of the slices of bread each with some onions, a slice of cheese, cooked patty, another slice of cheese and finally a slice of bread. Slather each sandwich on top and bottom with the butter.
  5. Wipe out the skillet. Then turn the heat to medium. Add the sandwiches. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes a side, or until the bread is golden browned and the cheese has melted.Slice in half diagonally and serve.

Recipe from Dishing Up Delights

_MG_5914-1

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/03/25/patty-melt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

