Greek Chickpea Salad

I had this one up on the menu for over a week.  Each time I planned to make it something came up and it got pushed back.  That entire time Jeff complained about how he would never eat something like that, and how gross it sounded.  I decided to compromise and allow him to order something the night I finally  made it to go along with it from a local Greek restaurant.  I instructed him to get some falafel or maybe a gyro or something.  He ended up getting gyros, falafel, pita and hummus, and buffalo calamari!  Obviously a full meal in itself and thus we didn’t eat much of the salad I made that night because we didn’t want to waste the other stuff.  I honestly think that was his plan all along.

However, we did both try it.  I thought it was great, and full of flavor.  He hesitantly admitted that he also thought it was pretty good.  I ended up eating it the next day for lunch and WOW!  It was even better, as the flavors had plenty of time to marry over night.  This could seriously become one of my new favorite things to make because you can make it ahead, and eat it for days.  I also think it would be the perfect thing for a potluck or dinner party, but I would suggest maybe making it the day before just so it can get better like mine did.

I really didn’t change anything in the recipe, but I may have used a little more garlic than was called for.  I also didn’t have fresh rosemary so used dried.  I eye balled most of the ingredients so I may have been a bit generous with some of them, but that’s what I like about dishes like these.  You really can’t go wrong.  I especially loved the dressing for this.  This is not one to pass up!

 

Greek Chickpea Salad

Makes 2 lunches or 6 smaller side dish servings.

Ingredients :

  • 1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 cup cucumber, chopped
  • 1/2 cup tomatoes, chopped (I used grape tomatoes and squeezed out the seeds)
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 1/4 cup kalamata olives, sliced
  • 3 – 4 T. olive oil (I think I used 3)
  • juice of 1 lemon (I threw in the zest as well)
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic paste (I made a paste with about 3-4 cloves and a little coarse salt)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp. rosemary, finely minced and to taste)
  • feta cheese (optional)

Directions :

  1. In a medium sized bowl, toss together the chickpeas, cucumber, tomato, red onion, parsley, and kalamata olives,  In a separate bowl whisk together the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic paste, salt, pepper and rosemary.  Taste the dressing and correct your seasonings.  Be aware that fresh rosemary can easily overpower a dish.  Add the dressing to the garbanzo mixture.  Mix lightly.  Top with optional feta cheese.

Recipe from Feral Kitchen

_MG_5990-1

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/greek-chickpea-salad/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

