Chicken Enchiladas in Creamy Avocado Sauce

As promised, this is the recipe I was talking about in my last post that I claimed was “Out Of This World”!!!  Enchiladas are good, but these are so much better.  I could have eaten the sauce with a spoon it was that good.  So fresh and vibrant with it’s gorgeous green color.  And the enchilada process was a breeze since it uses rotisserie chicken.  You all know how I feel about rotisserie chicken by now lol.

I had just enough salsa verde left over from the previous recipe (The Corn and Jalapeno Griddle Cakes) and I absolutely loved the flavor of it in this.  I used the World Table brand, and found it at Albertsons, but you can use whatever you have.  The cheese-lover in me was quite pleased by the amount of cheese in this recipe…. which is a lot lol.  It calls for cheddar and Monteray jack, and I used sharp cheddar and a Mexican blend in ours.  It also calls for 8 tortillas but I think I got more like 11 out of it and they were quite full.  I did end up using more like 5 cups of chicken though since I bought two containers of the already shredded rotisserie chicken (LOVE that about Albertson’s) and knew one wouldn’t be enough.  They are also very filling so this recipe could easily feed 5-6 people.

My only regret with this recipe was not taking shots of the enchiladas during the process, and when I poured the lovely green sauce all over them.  I have never been one to have the time or patience to stop and take shots throughout preparing a meal, and honestly my house doesn’t have a lot of good lighting so it wouldn’t turn out very well, but I wish you all could have seen how amazing it looked.  In trying to get a few out of the dish to plate for a picture I ended up losing a lot of the sauce off the tops which is why they look so white in the picture I have.  Trust me they are plenty saucy!

 

Chicken Enchiladas in Creamy Avocado Sauce

Serves – 5 or 6

Ingredients :

  • 1 C. chicken broth
  • 1 C. salsa verde
  • 1/2 C. sour cream
  • 4 avocados (2 for sauce, 2 for stuffing)
  • 1 clove garlic (I may have used two)
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 handful cilantro
  • 1/2 lime, juiced (I used the zest of a lime too and my lime was pretty large it reminded me more of a lemon)
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded
  • 4 C. rotisserie chicken, shredded
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded (see note above)
  • 2 cups Monteray Jack cheese, shredded (see note above)
  • 8 (7 inch) flour tortillas (see note above)

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Puree the chicken broth, salsa verde, sour cream, 2 avocados, garlic, cumin, salt and pepper, cilantro and lime juice in a blender or food processor until smooth.
  2. Mix the half of the sauce with the chicken, 1 chopped avocado, green onions and half of the cheese.
    Coat the bottom of a large baking dish with some of the sauce, wrap the chicken and avocado mixture in the tortillas and place them in the dish.
    Top the enchiladas with the remaining sauce.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes or until sides are bubbly.  Top with cheese and bake an addition 5-10 minutes.  Use remaining avocado for garnish.

Recipe from Laughing Spatula

_MG_6216-1 copy

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/chicken-enchiladas-in-creamy-avocado-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

