Buffalo Chicken Meatball Subs with Garlic Blue Cheese Sauce

I am going to preface this entry with an admission.  I have never been a fan of large chunks of meat… such as meatballs.  I don’t know, I just don’t love them.  However, I don’t hate them so much that I can’t take one for the team now and again so my husband, who does love meatballs, can enjoy some.  When I saw this recipe I figured it was the perfect compromise considering I do love buffalo chicken.

They were pretty good, but not my favorite sadly.  I think for me personally, the meatball aspect was more obvious than the buffalo aspect.  With that said, Jeff really enjoyed them, so I imagine most people who like meatballs will.  And now another admission… I HATE blue cheese.  I often substitute something like feta in, but I decided to give it another shot for this recipe since it wasn’t a lot.  As I figured, I still don’t like it, but it wasn’t AS bad in this form lol.  Again though, Jeff who does like blue cheese, though did like it.

As I mentioned the actual buffalo flavor wasn’t that strong, so I may have added more buffalo sauce, or even topped it with a drizzle at the end.  I personally like my sandwiches to be a bit more complex, so if you’re like me I would consider topping them with a little cilantro, green onion, or maybe thinly sliced celery, all of which go well with buffalo chicken.

I did have a little trouble getting these into meatball shapes.  My mixture was so wet I added a little more breadcrumb just so I could handle it.  And it’s been a while since I made these now, but I do think I had to cook them a bit longer than the suggested 20 minutes to get them cooked through.

Buffalo Chicken Meatball Subs with Garlic Blue Cheese Sauce

Ingredients :

  • 1/2 lb ground chicken
  • 2 T. bread crumbs
  • 2 T. dry ranch mix
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 cup hot sauce (I used Frank’s Wings Sauce)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T. unsalted butter
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 T. flour
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 T. crumbled blue cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions :

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F. Line a baking tray with foil or parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the chicken, breadcrumbs, ranch mix, onion, garlic, hot sauce and egg until well mixed. Roll into 12 meatballs and place on the tray. Bake 20 minutes or until cooked all the way through.
  3. While the meatballs are baking, in a medium saucepan, melt the butter. Add the garlic and cook until the garlic starts to brown. Whisk in the flour until a paste forms. Slowly whisk in the milk until everything is smooth. Bring to a boil and cook for a few minutes or until thickened. Add the blue cheese and whisk until melted. Remove from the heat.
  4. Depending on the size of the sandwich rolls, add about 3 or 4 meatballs per sandwich. Top with blue cheese sauce.

Recipe from Chocolate Moosey

_MG_6256-1 copy

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/buffalo-chicken-meatball-subs-with-garlic-blue-cheese-sauce/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

