Mini Pizza Stuffed Mushrooms

As often happens, plans fell through and I was stuck with an ingredient I needed to use up before it went bad.  In this case, it was a tray of baby portabellas.  I had been meaning to try some form of stuffed mushroom, and figured now was as good a time as any.  Problem was I didn’t exactly have many other typical ingredients found in stuffed mushrooms.  After searching for a while I decided to just wing it… something I like to do from time to time anyway.  These are what I came up with and I must say there were REALLY good!

I don’t know who was more leery, my husband or I, based off our last failed attempt as a mushroom type pizza.  At the time we bought large portabellas and used them as the “crust” for our pizzas.  Let’s just say I probably needed to cook those suckers a lot longer because it was exactly like biting into a very large semi cooked mushroom.  Blech!  I love mushrooms, but I am not a fan of raw mushrooms, and not in such large quantity.  With that in mind, I decided to make extra sure these were cooked by sauteing them a bit first (a tip I picked up from Pioneer Woman).  It was perfect.

You could of course use whatever pizza toppings you like, and the amounts I will list below are more of an estimate since I didn’t measure, but I suggest you just have fun with these and enjoy the almost guiltless treat!

 

Mini Pizza Stuffed Mushrooms

Makes : 6

Ingredients :

  • 6 baby portabella caps
  • 1/3 cup Mozzarella, shredded + 2 T.
  • 2 T. cheddar, shredded
  • 8-10 slices pepperoni
  • 2-3 slices ham lunch meat
  • 2 T. sliced olives
  • 2 T. sliced green onions
  • fresh basil, about 6 leaves
  • salt
  • pizza sauce, maybe 3-4 T.
  • Italian seasoning
  • 1 T. olive oil

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with foil.  Spray sheet with a bit of non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Using a damp paper towel, wipe clean the mushroom caps carefully and remove stems and gills. 
  3. Heat oil in large skillet and saute mushrooms until browned and slightly tender; about 5-7 minutes.  Turn mushrooms a couple times to release the water building up and get both sides well browned.  Season with a bit of kosher salt about halfway through.  Remove mushrooms onto prepared sheet and blot out the centers with a paper towel.
  4. While mushrooms are sauteing mix pepperoni, ham, olives, green onions and the 2 T. of each type of cheese in a bowl.
  5. Spoon a little sauce into the bottom of each mushroom cap, and sprinkle a little Italian seasoning over each.
  6. Fill mushrooms equally with your pizza mixture, sprinkle on a bit of chopped basil, and top with the 1/3 cup mozzarella in a mound on top.
  7. Bake about 15 minutes or until cheese has melted and starts to brown.  Remove onto paper towels to soak up any extra moisture and serve.

Recipe from Me ☺

_MG_6639-1-2

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/07/09/mini-pizza-stuffed-mushrooms/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

