Philly Cheese Steak Sloppy Joes

This is another great recipe for those busy weeknights, when you don’t have time to make anything complex.  Though my own kids could write the book on picky eating, I could see a lot of kids even being ok with this one.  The flavors are fairly mild, but still really good.  It definitely throws together very easily, and if you’re like me, a lot if not all of these ingredients are things you often have already on hand, making this a great go-to recipe when you haven’t planned ahead.

While these obviously aren’t a real philly cheese steak sandwich, I was surprised at how closely the flavor does resemble that of the real deal.  I really enjoyed the steak sauce in these.  Since I am a cheese-lover I doubled the cheese on ours and think that is definitely the way to go.  They aren’t called cheese steak for nothing after all!

The recipe was one I came across from one of those facebook shares you always see going around.  It didn’t actually specify how long I should be simmering everything so I had to just guess at how reduced/thick it should be.  I kept it going until just about all the actual liquid was gone because I didn’t want my buns to get too soggy, which ended up being about 10 minutes I’d say.

 

Philly Cheese Steak Sloppy Joes

Serves : 5-6

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 cup steak sauce, like A1
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • provolone cheese
  • buns

Directions :

  1. Crumble the ground beef into a heated skillet and add the green peppers and onions.  When beef is about halfway cooked add the broth and steak sauce.  Cook until everything is done, and allow to simmer and cook down/thicken. 
  2. Using buns of your choice, slice the open and fill with your meat mixture.  Top with a slice (or two like me) of provolone cheese before placing under the broiler for a minute or two until cheese is melted and starting to brown.

Recipe from a random facebook share

_MG_6684-1

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/07/10/philly-cheese-steak-sloppy-joes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Reblogged this on Extended Family Connection.


Leave a Reply

