FODMAP Free Tacos

Yesterday I mentioned a new diet I have been testing out.  It’s called the low FODMAP diet.  It’s a diet for people with IBS, that limits your exposure to foods containing certain carbohydrates that cause increased amounts of gas/liquids in the intestines that are responsible for the bloating, gas pains, and other discomforts of IBS.  If you are interested in reading more about the diet here is a link with some information.  It’s not an easy diet to follow, as I will be greatly limiting if not eliminating many foods I use on a daily basis, but I thought I would give it a shot.

So with that in mind I was browsing the internet for Low FODMAP recipes and came across this one.  It claims to be FODMAP free, but I noticed they suggested serving with sour cream which doesn’t fit the low FODMAP category from what I have read.  As with anything out there on the net there is room for error, but it’s also possible that the person who shared this particular recipe is not bothered by that particular food.  I imagine that with this diet there are no absolutes, and though there’s a good chance the listed foods effect a lot of people not all of them will effect everyone to the same degree.  So a person may find that some of the high FODMAP foods are still ok for them in certain quantities or when not combined with other high FODMAP foods since they say a combo can create a stronger response.  Anyway I won’t pretend to be an expert, but my plan is to limit as much as I can to start and then try re-introducing some foods by themselves to find what I can and can’t tolerate.

Now to talk about the dish… tacos are no great mystery.  You can easily get a packet of taco seasoning and do it the easy way, or you can make your own taco seasoning which I have also done in the past.  This recipe is a little different, not only in the lack of garlic and onion in the mix, but because it calls for peppers and chives in the meat mixture as well as tomato sauce.  They are new to me at least, and I really enjoyed them.  The taco seasoning mix is a good blend with a nice amount of heat, and the toppings are your pretty standard toppings.  If you are following the low FODMAP diet though I would suggest leaving the sour cream off.  I have never been a big fan of corn tortillas, but I wanted to stick with the recipe since I am still learning all the rules to the diet and didn’t want to assume that hard taco shells were ok.  I normally prefer them though.  Something about the texture of soft corn shells and the way they break so easily just bothers me.  After my first taco, I ended up skipping the taco shell altogether and just making a taco salad on my plate which worked out well enough, you can then either tear up some shell to put on top, or if you like a bit of crunch use the hard variety or corn chips.

 

FODMAP Free Tacos

Makes : 12 tacos

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 T. chopped chives
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 can organic tomato sauce *** (I used a small can)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 12 corn tortillas
  • 1 T. chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • Toppings (see suggestions below)

Directions :

  1. Mix together taco seasonings and set aside.
  2. In a large skillet over medium heat, brown the ground beef with the chives and chopped red bell pepper; drain
  3. While meat is cooking, heat corn tortillas in 350 degree oven for 10 minutes. See instructions below.
  4. Stir in seasonings, tomato sauce and water.
  5. Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

Notes :

  • Taco Toppings: shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, grated/shredded hard cheese, black sliced olives, sour cream**, hot sauce, scallions (green part only).
  • *** Make sure you get tomato sauce that has NO added onion or garlic. Many brands include these spices.
  • To heat tortillas, stack the tortillas and lightly sprinkle water between each tortilla. Wrap all tightly in foil and place on center rack of a pre-heated oven.

Recipe from Living FODMAP Free

_MG_6968-1-2
_MG_6977-1

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/07/21/fodmap-free-tacos/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

