Buffalo Chicken Waffle Fries

Just when I think there can’t possibly be another way to enjoy buffalo chicken I come across another!  And if you are a lover of all things buffalo chicken like me, you are NOT going to want to miss out on this one!  Pure genius is what this is.  All the goodness of buffalo chicken on a waffle fry, covered in cheese and drizzled with ranch and chives…. HECK YEAH!

Honestly these are fantastic as is, but my husband wanted me to mention that they may be even better if the fries had been a bit crispier.  Though I cooked the fries to a proper doneness before topping them with all the goodies they did get a bit soft again from the moisture of the chicken and having to sit there for a while as I photographed them.  I wasn’t bothered at all by the softness of the potato, but if you prefer a crispier fry just make sure you not only push the initial baking time as far as you can without burning them, and also serve them immediately for best results.

These are substantial enough to eat as a meal, perhaps with a side salad as we did.  I am going to say they are fairly low FODMAP as well minus the ranch (though I only used a little).  There may be some ingredients in the wing sauce that aren’t low FODMAP, I really didn’t look that far into it since I am being so casual with the diet right now, but I didn’t have any troubles after eating this meal so unless you are really sensitive to things I am sure it’s ok.  These are something you are going to want to make over and over again, and would be a great thing to serve at your football parties this fall!

I apologize in advance, the picture isn’t going to be much to look at…. by the time they were done I was hungry as was my husband and then in the middle of taking pictures I had a terrible hypoglycemic attack and I had to really rush through.  They may look like a mess on the plate, but they look better in person lol, and they taste WAY better than they look.

 

Buffalo Chicken Waffle Fries

Ingredients :

  • enough waffle fries to make a single layer on a sheet pan (I used probably 3/4 of a bag)
  • 1 cup roasted chicken, shredded (rotisserie chicken works great for this)
  • 1/2 cup Frank’s Wing Sauce
  • 2 T. butter
  • 1 handful grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 handful grated mozzarella cheese
  • ranch for drizzling (see note below)
  • chives

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees (or according to the package of your waffle fries).
  2. Spread fries in a single layer on a sheet pan. Bake about 20 minutes, or as directed on the package.
  3. While fries are baking, add the hot sauce and butter to a medium skillet and cook over low heat until the butter has melted. Add the chicken and toss to coat. Taste and add more hot sauce if desired.
  4. When fries are finished baking, remove the pan from the oven and drop spoonfuls of the chicken over the fries. Top with both cheeses. Return to the oven for five minutes.
    Remove from the oven and drizzle with ranch dressing and sprinkle with chives. Serve immediately.

** Note : I use lite ranch, but it’s still pretty thick out of the bottle.  What I like to do is mix it with a bit of water to thin it out which not only makes it spread more easily and stretches it out, but it doesn’t lessen the flavor at all and saves you calories since you don’t need as much to cover everything.

Recipe from Buns In My Oven

_MG_7629-1

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/buffalo-chicken-waffle-fries/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Fries: Buffalo Chicken Waffle Fries.  Buffalo wings taken to the next […]

  2. Reblogged this on Buffalo NY Heritage Association.


Leave a Reply

