Taco Casserole

While browsing recipes I was left with a craving for some taco casserole.  The problem was, the recipe that I found was made with pasta.  This wouldn’t be an issue except that I am trying to cut back for my low FODMAP diet.  So I decided to just switch the pasta out for rice.  The next issue was the recipe called for taco seasoning, which would include garlic and maybe even onion powder, but I already knew I could make my own seasoning blend so that wasn’t a big deal.  The biggest issue with the recipe I got the idea from though was that it was just a little too simple for my tastes.  At that point I figured I would just wing it and see what I could come up with…. and this was my result!

I would call it a success considering my husband seemed to really love it.  I am not as big of a taco fan as he is, but I really enjoyed it as well.  It had a nice heat to it, there was definitely that classic taco flavor, and the texture was just right.  I especially liked the cheesy chips on top for the crunch factor.  It was simple to throw together and makes a good amount, which leaves this as a perfect weeknight meal the whole family can enjoy.  It also holds up well as leftovers, you just may want to crumble some fresh chips and cheese over the top when you heat it up.

I believe this recipe to be a good candidate for the low FODMAP diet, however as with anything you should use your own judgement based on your own trigger foods.

 

Taco Casserole

Serves : 4-5

Ingredients :

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 T. chopped chives
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 T. chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 can condensed tomato soup
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with jalapenos, lime juice, and cilantro (drained)
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cups cooked rice
  • 1/2-3/4 cup sliced black olives
  • 1/2 cup sliced green onions (green parts only for low fodmap)
  • 1 1/4 cup Mexican blend cheese
  • tortilla chips for top

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Make rice…. I  made mine in a rice cooker and pulled it out just a little before it was done so it wouldn’t get too soft.
  3. Heat about a tablespoon of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Toss in the peppers and chives and saute until peppers are tender but firm.  Add in the beef and cook until browned.  Drain off the liquid.
  4. Stir in the spices, then add your tomato soup, diced tomatoes, and black beans.  Add about 1/4-1/3 cup water as needed if it seems a bit dry.  You don’t want it really saucy, but it should be moist.  Cook at medium-low for a few minutes.
  5. Throw in the olives, chopped green onion, and rice with about 1/2 cup cheese and stir it all together.  Pour into a baking dish and bake for about 10-15 minutes until well heated through. 
  6. Crumble some tortilla chips on top and sprinkle the last 3/4 cup of cheese on top before placing back in the oven for a couple more minutes… just until cheese is melted.  You can also put it under the broiler at this time to speed things up and give the chips even more crunch.  Serve.

Recipe from Me

_MG_7653-1

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/taco-casserole/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

