Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Stuffed Flank Steak

I don’t make steak very often.  Not necessarily out of dislike for it, but I guess chicken and fish are my go-to meats.  Growing up we ate steak very often, but it was venison, and butchered very well.  Because of this I have a major dislike of the fatty parts in most steak you can buy and either end up cutting off as much visible white as I can, or just not eating it.  I also grew up with a mom that believed in cooking the steak fully… there was NEVER any pink on our meat and that’s the way I like it!  I would rather eat burnt meat than raw/bloody meat.  Well… maybe I can handle a LITTLE pink, but that’s as far as I go.  These circumstances have kept me from really experimenting with steak recipes.  Typically, if i do cook steak, it’s cut up into small pieces which makes it easier to cut away the stuff I don’t like.  But then once in a while I see a recipe that looks so good I just have to try it and this was one of those recipes.  The picture even had PINK in it!

So I was excited to try this… but then couldn’t find flank steak!  I settled for some other steaks I saw (I think they were sirloin) that looked nice and clean and somewhat flat.  I knew that having two smaller steaks would cook faster, but I figured since the recipe said 25 minutes for medium (and I like well) that it would be fine…. and it was, but they were maybe a touch overdone on the outer edges.  Most of it was very tender though, and it wasn’t “too done” for my standards, just for most people’s.  So if, like me, you end up having to use smaller steaks and you don’t like your steak cooked as fully I would suggest cutting back on the time.  I also knew that having a smaller steak would result in a smaller pinwheel and that it would be harder to roll up, but it still worked out alright.  Not only was I working with two smaller steaks rather than one larger one, but they had thin spots that allowed some to leak out a bit, and my total weight was just over a lb, rather than 1.5 lbs.  So I had a bit more pesto than I needed.

Now for my review… it was GREAT!  My slices didn’t look as clean as the original poster because of the smaller pinwheels and the fact that I don’t have a good meat slicing knife that is sharp enough to get a clean cut, but the taste was still fantastic.  I really liked the tenderness of the steak, and the vibrant flavors of the pesto.  We paired ours with some multicolored roasted potatoes, and a nice green salad and it was the perfect meal.

I actually made the pesto earlier that day and stuffed/rolled up the steaks before putting them back in the fridge and I think that really helped boost the flavors and allow them to soak into the meat too.  I also think it allowed the pesto to firm up a bit, keeping it from running out as easily while I was searing the meat.  For the pesto I only needed 1 T. of oil.  This is an easy technique and sure to impress, making this a great dish to make for guests!

With only 1 clove of garlic I would definitely consider this low FODMAP, and if garlic is a trigger for you, go ahead and leave that out as well.  I believe this also fits as a Clean Eating recipe, which is something I am trying to be more aware of for my family.  One step at a time!

 

Sun-dried Tomato Pesto Stuffed Flank Steak

Serves : 4

Ingredients :

  • 1.5 lb flank steak
  • 1 T. extra virgin olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 cup packed baby spinach
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 T. pine nuts
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1/2 lemon (I used the whole thing)
  • 1-2 T. extra virgin olive oil

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine all pesto ingredients except olive oil in a food processor and process until finely chopped, scraping down sides if needed.
  3. Drizzle olive oil in while food processor is running until pesto-like consistency forms. Set aside.
  4. Lay flank steak on cutting board. Cover with plastic wrap and pound with meat tenderizer until it’s evenly about ¼ inch thick.
  5. Season steak with salt & pepper.
  6. Spread pesto with a spatula evenly over the entire steak, leaving about ½ inch uncovered around the edges.
  7. Roll steak up with the grain and tie tightly with kitchen twine in 3 spots so pesto stays inside while cooking.
  8. Heat a skillet with the tablespoon of olive oil over medium-high heat.
  9. Once hot, brown the rolled up steak for about 2 minutes on each side.
  10. Transfer skillet to the oven and bake for about 25 minutes for medium.
  11. Remove steak from the skillet, transfer to a cutting board and let rest for about 5 minutes before slicing.

Recipe from Running to the Kitchen

_MG_7844-1

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/08/27/sun-dried-tomato-pesto-stuffed-flank-steak/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

