Italian Chicken Bake

Don’t let the simplicity of this fool you, it’s full of flavor.  The fact that it’s super simple to throw together any night of the week is just an added bonus.  While it is great as is, you could take it a step further even and maybe add a little lemon juice or zest, or a few more herbs, or perhaps use a different type of cheese.  This is one of those great basic recipes that is perfect for making little alterations to best suit you and your family.

I served ours with rice, which was a nice combo.  The rice was perfect for the bit of sauce in this dish.  Instead of basil, because the store was out, I used parsley.  One issue I had though, was regarding liquid.  The recipe states to drain the artichokes and tomatoes very well, even going so far as to lay them on paper towels to ensure the flour would thicken up the liquids.  However I didn’t have any liquid left in my dish after draining them so well.  The recipe poster used thighs in her dish and I can only assume they let off more liquid than the breasts I used.  I didn’t want to end up with floury artichokes and tomatoes so I added a bit of chicken stock (maybe 1/4-1/3 cup) to the dish and that worked perfectly.  It was still a little thin after the first cooking, but I opted to use a combination of both the grated Parmesan and the Mozzarella, and the Parmesan helped to thicken it up that last bit.

One thing I would suggest if you are using breasts, is to pound them out somewhat thin or butterfly them.  Not only do they cook better/more evenly, but I just think it is a better balance per bite than a thick bite of chicken would be.  It’s all preference though.  Also the recipe called for 6 chicken thighs, but since I was using breasts I was left to guess at how much that might be.  I went with about 2 lbs, or just under.  You can use canned artichokes or the marinated kind, and the recipe poster suggests the marinated for more flavor.  That is what I used and I agree.  I also used a roasted tomato that had basil and some other Italian seasonings in it.

Italian Chicken Bake

Ingredients :

  • 6 chicken thighs
  • 1 8oz jar marinated artichoke hearts, drained well
  • 1 14.5 oz can roasted tomatoes, drained well
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 T. flour
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1 cup grated mozzarella or parmesan
  • basil – optional

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Coat a 9 x 9 baking dish with non stick spray.
  3. Place chicken in baking dish.
  4. In mixing bowl, combine all other ingredients.
  5. Pour over chicken.
  6. Bake for 40 minutes or until chicken is completely cooked through.
  7. Top with cheese and bake an additional 5 minutes.
  8. Garnish with fresh basil if desired.

** Be sure to read notes above regarding liquid.

Recipe from Laughing Spatula

 

_MG_7964-1

Published in: on September 27, 2013 at 1:07 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/09/27/italian-chicken-bake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

