Skinny Pumpkin Spice Muffins with Walnut Streusel

Continuing on with my Fall cravings I had to try these when I came across them.  I have been trying to be really good and not bake every day even though that’s exactly the kind of food I want this time of year, but after reading that these (without the glaze on top I think) were only 150 calories a piece I all but ran to the kitchen to whip them up.  Luckily I already had everything on hand.

These muffins are fantastic!  They aren’t really sweet, but the addition of the glaze and streusel on top lends just the right amount of sweetness to make these healthier little gems taste as indulgent as the not so healthy ones.  The pumpkin flavor comes through nicely and the spice is just the right amount to not seem overwhelming.  And while these are not large muffins, you could eat two and still be under calorie compared to some of the muffins you COULD be eating.

True to their usual selves neither of my kids would even try these, but I did give some to a friend and she reported that their family loved them, kids included.  My husband and I had no trouble devouring the rest of them.  I would absolutely make these again, and again, and again.  The only slight change I made was to add a little bit of vanilla to the glaze because I just don’t like the flavor of straight powdered sugar.

 

Skinny Pumpkin Spice Muffins with Walnut Streusel

Makes : 24 muffins

Ingredients :

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg + 3 egg whites
  • 1 (15oz) can pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Streusel :

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 T. butter, diced
  • 2 T. oats
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 2 T. flour

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Sift flour, baking powder, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and salt in a large bowl.
  3. In a mixer or separate bowl, beat the egg, egg whites, and pumpkin puree together until combines.
  4. Mix in the olive oil, both sugars, and vanilla extract.
  5. Slowly combine the flour mixture and wet mixture, stirring to just combine.
  6. Grease a muffin pan and fill each section a little more than half way.
  7. To make the streusel, combine all the ingredients in a small bowl, using a fork or your hands to make rough crumbs. Top each unbaked muffin equally with the crumbs.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes. Makes 24 muffins.
  9. Optional: drizzle with powdered sugar mixed with milk!

Recipe from Apple of my Eye

_MG_8043-1

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/skinny-pumpkin-spice-muffins-with-walnut-streusel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This post honestly made my day! So glad you liked them! 😀

  2. These muffins are SOOOO good! Five stars!

  3. How many calories for each? They look amazing! 🙂

    • Well the original recipe claims 150 calories a piece, but that doesn’t include the glaze on top. I didn’t put it into a nutrition calculator myself, so I can’t confirm if that’s correct or not, but even if it’s fairly close that’s good enough for me since that’s pretty low.

  4. These turned out well. The crumb topping was wonderful. However, the recipe doesn’t have any milk or yoghurt in it and my batter was very thick. Was something left out?

    • I am glad you enjoyed them. The recipe I followed doesn’t call for any, so it’s written correctly according to that.


Leave a Reply

