Crock Pot Kid-Friendly Turkey Chili

I have to admit, I did not choose this recipe based on the self-proclaimed title of being kid-friendly, knowing all to well my kids would in fact NOT eat it.  Rather I chose it because it boasted of a mere 226 calories a serving.  Whether or not that is fully accurate I can’t say, and I am too lazy to plug it all in to a nutrition calculator myself, but I figured it can’t be much more and that’s definitely low enough to have some wiggle room and fit into anybody’s diet!

So as I said I had no intentions of my kids eating this, but I did urge my oldest to at least try it.  He actually gave it the thumbs up, which is no small feat, but then after a few bites decided maybe it wasn’t for him.  But trust me, that the fact that he liked it at all speaks volumes.  My husband and I, however, thought it was very good.  We topped ours with a bit of sour cream, cheese and chips as suggested, which I am sure brings the total up, but as I said the calories are so low that’s no problem, and you can certainly choose healthy versions of your toppings such as low fat, or multigrain chips like we did.  I actually made this with plans to use the leftovers for the blogger’s Turkey Chili Loaded Baked Potatoes, but then my entire family ended up really sick and my meal plans went out the window.  It was just as good heated up though the next few days.

I did alter things a little to suit our tastes…. I added black beans and some more tomato sauce.  I actually doubled the recipe, and used two cans of the beans, and 2 (15oz) cans of tomato sauce.  I also cut the meat back to an even 2 lbs, rather than 2.6 as it should have been.  Other than those changes I made it as stated and thought the seasoning in particular was just right.  I have made many chili recipes with a lot more chili powder, and wondered if this would be too bland, but it really wasn’t.

 

Crock Pot Kid-Friendly Turkey Chili

Serves : 5

Ingredients :

  • 1.3 lbs ground turkey
  • 1 tsp. oil
  • 1 medium onion, minced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced fine
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels
  • 10 oz. can Rotel Mild Tomatoes
  • 8 oz. small can plain tomato sauce (see notes above)
  • 1/4 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • Optional : black beans (see note above)

Optional Toppings :

  • diced avocado
  • reduced fat sour cream
  • reduced fat shredded cheese
  • baked tortilla chips

Directions :

  1. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat, add the turkey, season with salt and cook, breaking up with a spoon until turkey browns and is no longer pink; place into the slow cooker.
  2. Add the oil to the skillet and sauté the onion, garlic and bell pepper over medium heat for about 4 to 5 minutes. Spoon over turkey into the slow cooker and stir in corn and tomatoes, tomato sauce, cumin, chili powder, paprika and salt, mix until well blended.
  3. Cover and cook on HIGH 4 hours or LOW 6 hours. Serve with desired toppings.

Note : the original recipe said to add a bay leaf after adding the spices in step two, but I wasn’t sure if it was a mistake since there was no bay leaf listed in the ingredients list and I didn’t really think it was necessary so I skipped it, you are welcome to put it in though if you prefer.

Recipe from Skinny Taste

_MG_8052-1

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/10/22/crock-pot-kid-friendly-turkey-chili/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

