Buffalo Chicken Chili

I know I just posted a chili recipe, but that’s one of the things I like about chili.  There are SO many recipes out there, often using the same basic ingredients and spices, yet they all taste so different.  Obviously this particular recipe doesn’t stick to the traditional ingredients, but you all know that as soon as I saw the word Buffalo I had to try it!

This may seriously be my favorite chili recipe, ever!  The buffalo flavor is there, but not overwhelmingly so.  I actually tasted it while it was simmering and felt I wanted a little more so I used about a cup total of the wing sauce.  The recipe also just called for Frank’s hot sauce, which I believe is different than the Frank’s Wing Sauce version…. but whenever I am making something “buffalo” I always go for the wing sauce version.  It just makes sense.

It had a nice bit of heat, but again not overpowering for those that don’t like their mouth to be on fire.  I wasn’t sure about the spice amounts, and felt like too much of the traditional chili spices would mask the buffalo, so I ended up using 1 T. chili powder, 1 T. cumin, and about 1/2 T.  of the paprika.  That was perfect for us.  I used turkey instead of chicken, mainly because I was scared to buy Foster Farms chicken after hearing something on the news recently about maybe listeria or salmonella or something even though they didn’t recall it and said to simply make sure it was fully cooked.  I honestly don’t notice much difference between the two when they are ground up anyway since you are adding so much flavor to the dishes.  I also added a can of white beans to my chili and cut back on the amount of meat to make sure it wouldn’t get too thick.  I know a lot of people don’t like beans, but to me it isn’t chili if there aren’t beans!  The biggest addition I made to this, however, was to top it with some crumbled goat cheese (I gave my husband blue cheese, but I am not a fan) and OMG, that was SO perfect for this.  It melted in beautifully and made it so creamy and added that bit of tanginess that cuts through the heat of the buffalo sauce you would often get from either using blue cheese or ranch dressing.

I seriously couldn’t get enough, and it was just as good the next day for lunch!  If you are looking for a great comfort dish to warm you up as the weather turns cold and dark this is one you won’t want to miss!

Buffalo Chicken Chili

Ingredients :

  • 1 T. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 lbs. ground chicken (see note above, I used 1.25lb turkey)
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 ribs celery, finely chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T. chili powder (see note above, I used 1 T.)
  • 1 T. ground cumin
  • 1 T. smoked paprika (see note above, I used about 1/2 T.)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2-3/4 cup Frank’s hot sauce (see note above, I used 1 cup Frank’s Wing Sauce)
  • 1 (15oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (15oz.) can fire-roasted crushed tomatoes
  • Optional toppings : sliced green onions, shredded cheddar (I used the onions and some crumbled goat cheese for me and crumbled blue cheese for my husband)

Directions :

  1. Set a large pot over medium to medium-high heat and add the oil. Add the ground chicken and cook until browned, breaking it up with a wooden spoon as it cooks.
  2. Stir in the carrots, onion, celery, garlic, chili powder, cumin, paprika, salt, and pepper. Cook for about 8-10 minutes, stirring often, until the veggies have softened.
  3. Add the chicken broth and scrape the bottom of the pan to release any brown bits. Stir in the hot sauce, tomato sauce, and crushed tomatoes. Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer until the veggies are tender and the chili has thickened to your desired consistency. (Best to give it at least an hour)
  4. After simmering, try the chili and add additional seasonings and/or hot sauce to taste, if necessary. Garnish with sliced green onion, shredded cheddar cheese, or any other toppings you’d like before serving!

Recipe from Tracey’s Culinary Adventures

 

_MG_8081-1
_MG_8103-1-2

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/buffalo-chicken-chili/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

