Hearty Black Bean Quesadillas

These quesadillas are perfect for a busy weeknight meal, or perhaps a weekend lunch.  They really come together very quickly, and are both flavorful and satisfying.  They are also a great option for a vegetarian dish.  Even my husband didn’t complain of the lack of meat in these.  As an added bonus these are also a very budget friendly meal!

I used whole grain tortillas for these and cheddar cheese, because that’s what I had on hand.  I think a Mexican blend or maybe some pepper jack would be good also.  Everything else I made as listed.  I did top mine with some sour cream though, which is of course optional.  You could also top them with some salsa.

When I said these would be great for a busy weeknight meal I wasn’t kidding.  What’s easier than opening a can of beans (unless you use dried beans that is lol), mixing it with some frozen corn, onions, a few spices, and some cheese and cilantro, then filling the tortillas and giving them a quick turn in the skillet?!  I think someone told me that you can even freeze the extra quesadillas, but I won’t stake my life on that…. I don’t do a lot of freezing of meals so I don’t really know much about what works and what doesn’t.

They may be a tad spicy for kids, but you could cut back on some of the spices if you prefer.

Hearty Black Bean Quesadillas

Ingredients :

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 small red onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 bunch cilantro
  • 2 cups shredded cheese
  • 1 T. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne
  • 1/2 tsp. oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. cornstarch
  • 10 taco-sized tortillas (I think I got closer to 8 from mine but I was generous with the filling)

Directions :

  1. Drain & rinse beans, and combine in a bowl with the corn.
  2. Rinse cilantro, and give it a rough chop.  Dice onion, and mince garlic.  Combine with the bean and corn mixture. 
  3. Add seasoning and stir well to combine everything.
  4. Spoon 1/2 cup of filling onto one side of your tortilla and fold over.  Cook until brown and cheese has melted, flipping when needed.

*Tip* : To keep them warm while you make the rest place on a glass dish in the oven set to warm or about 200F. 

Recipe from Budget Bytes

_MG_8339-1
_MG_8353-2

Published in: on December 3, 2013 at 9:56 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/hearty-black-bean-quesadillas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I put only 4 stars because it’s an everyday easy meal, but I gotta say I could eat a ton of these. Because they’re finger food, I ate my entire one while standing at the stove. Really, really good!!

    • Glad you liked them! I love quesadillas because they are so easy and versatile. I have tried a lot of different versions now.


Leave a Reply

