Macadamia Nut White Chip Pumpkin Cookies

A couple weeks ago, in my excitement over the Fall Season, I bought one of those little recipe booklets you find by the check-out line at your grocery store.  This one was all about Pumpkin!  After quickly thumbing through it I was certain I would try enough of the recipes to make it worth the little splurge…. and THIS was definitely first on my list!  I love white chocolate macadamia nut cookies, so the addition of pumpkin had me drooling just thinking about it.

The verdict… AMAZING!  Like maybe my favorite cookie ever now.  I would say these cookies are dangerously good…. because one day I think I actually ate like 7-8 of them!  They did not last long in my house….  I can never bring myself to make cookies as small as suggested, so I got about 3 dozen out of this recipe.

I did run into a little issue… or maybe not, but it wasn’t what I was expecting.  I thought they would be more cookie-ish I guess, but the texture of mine turned out much softer and more like pumpkin bread.  I even baked them slightly longer than suggested trying to make sure the centers were set up because I could tell they were so soft.  Once I accepted that they weren’t going to firm up however, and embraced the pumpkin bread texture of them I honestly couldn’t have been happier.  I LOVE pumpkin bread lol.  It just made for a harder time storing them without being able to stack them up.  If I had to guess, and I am no expert on the science of baking, I would say there is just too much butter and pumpkin, and not enough flour to get that cookie texture, but as I said I wouldn’t say it was a flaw, just something to be aware of perhaps.

This is definitely one I will make every year to ring in Fall, and I may even share some of them…. maybe.

_MG_0678-1 copy _MG_0685-2 copy

Macadamia Nut White Chip Pumpkin Cookies

Yield : 3 dozen

Ingredients :

  • 2 cups all purpose four
  • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 cups white chocolate chips
  • 2/3 cup chopped macadamia nuts, or walnuts

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Combine flour, cinnamon, cloves, and baking soda in a small bowl. 
  3. Beat butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar in a large mixer bowl until creamy.  Beat in pumpkin, egg, and vanilla until well blended.
  4. Gradually beat in flour mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.
  5. Drop by rounded tablespoonful onto greased baking sheets (or lined with parchment paper); flatten slightly with back of spoon.
  6. Bake for 11 to 14 minutes or until centers are set. (Read above).  Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Recipe from Pumpkin recipe booklet

Published in: on September 28, 2014 at 5:17 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2014/09/28/macadamia-nut-white-chip-pumpkin-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

